We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatly Overpriced and in need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Greatly Overpriced and in need of updating”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here two nights and paid $180 per night before tax for two in room 240. No fridge or microwave. Bathroom had peeling wallpaper and safety bars added on that looked like retrofits. This hotel caters to college sport teams and looks like it with stained hallway carpets and dingy interiors in the rooms (to hide potential damage?). Fitness equipment was broken and when reported at front desk, they already knew about it and nothing was being done about it. Staff unable to advise how to retrieve phone messages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Denise E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor Review about our hotel. We value all feed back from our guests, so that we may continue to improve our property and our service.

First off, let me apologize about the broken fitness equipment. That situation, while accidental, should have been handled better by our front desk staff and we want to offer our most sincere apologies on the lack of customer service that you received on that issue and the voice mail issue as well.

In regards to the state of our rooms, it may surprise you that we couldn't agree with you more! We are chomping at the bit for the renovation starting this December. We've seen the pictures, and we think you'll be pretty amazed at all the changes.

We do hope that you will give us another chance and that when you do, you'll contact either our General Manager Joe Baldowin, or our Assistant General Manager Evan Talbert before you reserve, so that we may make sure that your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.


J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    236
    82
    32
    23
See reviews for
304
96
54
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Overall a pleasant hotel, clean tidy rooms, comfy beds. Pool nice though sometimes cold. The breakfast service relied on paper cups too much I think and waitresses took plates too quickly - felt little rushed. The restaurant staff seemed very un-knowledgeable and frankly the service was poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jennifer T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We wanted to pass along a note from our Food and Beverage Service Manager.

Thank you again and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator

************************************************************************************************

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed the beds and the cleanliness of our rooms. Our goal each morning is to serve a delicious, hot breakfast buffet with a lot of variety. This includes a choice of ceramic or paper cups, in a setting where you may enjoy it at your own pace. We apologize that our staff seemed rushed or was not able to respond to your inquiries. Comments like these are important to share with staff and make improvements from, so we very sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write and share your experience. We do hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again,

Tara Case
Food and Beverage Manager
BEST WESTER PLUS innTowner and The Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night while we visited the University of Wisconsin. The room stunk like cigarettes and cleaning fluid. There was a dirty towel in the bathroom, and the shower head was poor quality. It just had a run down feel to it, as if the business was coasting because there isn't any competition in the price range. I could have spent another $100 to stay at the Hilton or Hyatt, but we were only going to be there to sleep and shower. Next time I will look elsewhere. It's too bad because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all feedback from guest about their stay so that we may improve our property and our service for all of our guests.

Please accept our apologies on the issues that you had during your stay. We hope you do give us another chance, especially after our upcoming renovation starting this December. If you do decide to come back, please contact our General Manager, Joe Baldowin, in advance so that we can make sure that you're next stay exceeds your expectations.

Thank you again for your comments and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay there on University Dr. they were great with their shuttle service, and just helpful in any way possible. My husband has problems getting around and we had to go to the VA hospital there. Like I stated the hotel was comfortable, really nice rooms, and service was great. We had there breakfast, and dinner right at the hotel which was also very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Eugene,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such glowing words about our property here on TripAdvisor. We are overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We hope you next visit with us if for more pleasant reasons, and we look forward to seeing you.


J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was hard to find but it was great after we got there. Loved the Highland Club Upgrade The rooms were on the small side but very nice. The hospitality Lounge was very nice and the breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear William S,

Thank you so much for writing such kind words about us on trip advisor. We love upgrading guests to the Highland Club when we can and are really glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to your return trips to Madison. Don't be a stranger! :)

Thanks and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have stayed with this brand before and wasn't impressed, however this hotel was very nice in every amenity, from the pool to upper lounge. I was there for business and really appreciated the fast wifi as well as the shuttle to and from events. We had the fourth floor with access to lounge directly across hall from us which gave me a little elbow room while I worked on my laptop and enjoyed a couple of drinks. Overall a pleasant surprise from previous stays at the BW brand hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sandra G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are overjoyed that we could exceed your expectations of our brand and of our hotel. We hope you'll come back and see us after we renovate the Highland Club Lounge starting this December. We love having guests up there and we're really glad that you enjoyed it!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was very neat and clean. The bedding was super clean. A white quilt was tucked in between two nice heavy sheets to cover up with. Very nice. The bathroom was very clean also. Good location, within walking distance of the UW Hospital. Easy to find. There is a bar and grill, Blue Moon, a block away - good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear David B,

Thank you so much for writing such kind words about us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate any feedback from our guests and love to know when we've exceeded expectations. We hope you'll visit us again after our upcoming renovations.

Thank you again and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club


PS. We love the burgers and chili over there at the Blue Moon too! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#10 of 63 in Madison
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Address: 2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53726-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner & The Highland Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing