We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRAPPY HOTEL!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“CRAPPY HOTEL!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel prior to going for appointments at UW-Hospital/clinic. This is without a doubt the dirtiest, most worn out hotel we've ever stayed in!! It would do the community a real favor if this hotel was demolished, and either replaced by a parking lot...or a top-notch hotel, like Hilton Garden Inns & Suites. We usually stay in th Hilton properties which are always great, clean, reasonably priced, and very pleasant to deal with!

But this Best Western (better name = Worst Western) sucks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSE-FLYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    218
    76
    28
    21
See reviews for
264
85
51
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This review is b/c the people here were really nice. Jason, the driver for the hotel was kind and always available for free rides. He was full of information, always timely, and just an all around nice guy. I really appreciate how helpful he was and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Upon entering the room, I noticed that it was better maintained than the majority of best westerns I've been a patron of in the past.however, on an emotional level, it was so much more than just cleanliness. The concierge, Shayd, was one of most lovely individuals with whom I have come into contact. His impeccable service as well as his ability to connect with customers on a meaningful level was uncommon and, quite frankly, a breath of fresh air. I strongly recommend this hotel as long as this fine young individual is an employee.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakejakejakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stay at the Inntowner frequently. The staff has been very friendly and helpful, making a concerted effort to help me out with the challenges of frequent travel. In particular Jerad, who has sorted out my complicated schedule more than once, Nick, and the other friendly front desk folks, and in the breakfast room, Melanie, and Jan. Also, a special thank you to Gade in the breakfast room for her quick action last week. I was very lucky that she saw I had dropped my cell phone and then found me immediately. Thank goodness for the staff at the Inntowner!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nancybw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jengirl000
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel room was clean. Hotel is not new by any means and you can feel the age of the building when in the hallways but the rooms were very comfortable. They offer free breakfast in the morning. Manager was very friendly and was able to help me with my wireless internet that wasn't working correctly, except their wifi connection seemed very slow in the evening (probably a lot of people using at this time). Good location, The Blue Moon bar across the street was a good place to get a burger and a drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jengirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I called about 2:00 of a busy Badger check-in weekend to ask if I could have a room ready when I arrived to allow my son to shower after he had just gotten done playing football. I also asked if there was a chance they could get us close to our friends who were also staying. The gal at the front desk said all clean rooms had been assigned, but she could see what they could do. When I arrived at 2:30 I had a room available and the room next to us was reserved for my girlfirend. The shuttled us to a pregame alumni event and picked us up after the game and brought us back to the hotel. I didn't hear a thing (rooms must be pretty soundproof) so I got a good nights sleep. The breakfast was more than the normal continental breakfast hotels are serving. We will definitely stay here again for our Badger weekends. Though they were really busy, everyone was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinnesotaUSA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

An average BW/Chain hotel. Carpeting in room needs replacing, looks very worn and had several deep stains. Overall was clean, quiet, everything worked (except the Keurig). Continental breakfast was included with room but had few offerings for vegan but that's not a surprise. In-hotel restaurant lunch/dinner menu would satisfy the non-vegan in a crunch.
Across the street was a local non-chain Italian restaurant, down the block was a neighborhood bar & grill. Other than these 2, additional eating places requires car or bike to reach. I was wanting to stay near the UW Hospital so this met the need without being sketchy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.8 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Address: 2424 University Ave, Madison, WI 53726-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner & The Highland Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing