We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most convenient for hospital stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at this Best Western several times in the month of November while visiting a critical UW Madison hospital patient. The hotel is literally 2 blocks (2stop lights) from the hospital, and they have shuttles, free of charge (I didnt use the shuttle but would suggest a tip). They have a fantastic breakfast, all you can eat buffet type with pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juices, coffee, bagels, hot and cold cereals and much more. A nice sit down breakfast before heading back to the hospital. They offer a discount to hospital patients but you must call from the hospital or have the hospital book your room. They charge per person. My room was clean and spacious. They do have a small bar, but we never got to the hotel early enough from the hospital to use it, however we were able to buy a few beers to take to our room as they were closing. The bar and I think the pool/hot tub close at 10 which is a little too early in my opinion to use when spending the day at the hospital. Either way, the hotel is convenient with a wonderful breakfast. Unfortunately, the hotel doubles their price on weekends with a home Badger Game and you can not get the hospital discount during this. That was a bummer because the hospital is close and convenient, however I was forced to spend 2 nights at another hotel using a cab to go back and forth to the hospital (I didn't have a car and find Madison very difficult to drive in anyway, especially when always leaving the hospital in the dark while very tired). So, all in all, the hospital is great, just a few disappointments.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 945 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

I spend many nights of my year in top-tier hotels around the world for work. This trip was a personal trip and I really just needed a place to crash for the night. The Best Western InnTowner had the attentive and friendly staff, cleanliness of public areas and beautifully decorated rooms filled with all of the ammenities I am typically accustomed to (wireless internet, enough outlets for all of my necessarry electronics, etc...). To top it off, a delicious hot/cold buffet breakfast was waiting for me in the morning to help kick-start my day.

I am rather picky about the hotels I stay in, and when I find myself needing a place to stay in Madison, I will definitely be calling the InnTowner "home!"

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in Madison from Nov 11th through Nov 14th as my nephew was admitted in the University Hospital for surgery. I had booked a double room as my sister in law was going to stay there as well. Even though we had a room there, she decided to sleep on a roll away at the hospital to be with her son at all times.

The room was as expected - clean and basic. The front desk staff was warm and courteous. The complimentary shuttle service they provided was excellent and on one occasion even took me to the local "Target" to purchase something needed in the hospital. I would definitely recommend this hotel to people visiting Madison. Great stay

Unfortunately the hostesses in the breakfast area leave a lot to be desired. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast to the guests (one per guest). Since my sister in law was sleeping at the hospital, I went to the hostess at the restaurant and gave my voucher as well as my sister-in-laws voucher and said that I would take something for her to eat. I asked them for a box and after acting real weird - the hostess brought me a measly 4x4 inch box. I asked for a bigger one or another of these. To which she says "we only give one". I explained to her the circumstance and said that if she had come for breakfast she would have eaten more than what fits in the little box. Very grudgingly she gave me another box.

I was there for another 2 days so when I went down the 2nd day, I thought we had resolved this. But she acted weird again. This happened every morning I was there. In fact one evening I went to the front desk and asked for a tea bag as they only had coffee in the room. The front desk sent me to the restaurant to pick it up. Unfortunately for me, the same surly woman was working the shift. She actually had the audacity to ask me to pay for the tea bag. I wish I had written down her name as she is definitely not someone you need interfacing with guests.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My family enjoys The Inntowner for all our trips to Madison. We love to be within walking distance of campus. The decor and rooms are great and we love the breakfasts too. It is a great place to stay!! The staff is very helpful!! Everything is clean and ready to go! We highly recommend The Inntowner as a place to stay!!

Room Tip: We like the quiet section in the back of the hotel- these are great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I recently spent a girls' weekend in Madison and once again stayed at the Best Western Inn Towner. This place never disappoints me! The hotel has undergone some major renovations, but it is not the physical appearance that makes this place great. The staff is friendly and accommodating; even though I arrived early, I was able to check-in and relax in my room before the festivities started.

The complimentary breakfast is not stale pastries and coffee--there was a wide array of choices such as (really tasty) oatmeal, egg scrambles, hot pancakes, crispy bacon, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt (both plain and flavored with fresh strawberries), and of course a wide variety of juices and coffee. We all enjoyed our breakfasts and were ready to start the day with plenty of energy.

The rooms are large and the bathrooms spotless. Instead of a regular coffeemaker, each room is equipped with a Keurig coffeemaker, complete with 4 cups of delicious coffee. The thermostat is easy to control, so there are no worries about the room being too hot or too cold. The bathrobes are so luxurious, I wish I could afford to buy one for home, and the beds are large and very comfortable.

I will always stay at the Best Western Inn Towner when I am in Madison because the staff is among the best I have encountered. Everything else is just icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My 4 sisters and sister-in-law spent last weekend here for a get-together and had a great time. The staff is very friendly, rooms were clean and spacious, and the breakfast buffet was very satisfying. The hotel is located on the edge of the UW Madison campus and close to everything. The hotel provided us with a shuttle to Monona Terrace so we could attend an art fair without worrying about where to park. A+++.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, choose the Highland Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I travel to Madison whenever I can, having family in the city. I stay at the Inntowner every trip and have always had a great experience. From the front desk staff to the general manager, they are always friendly and helpful when needed. The little cafe has a wonderful breakfast buffet that every guest can enjoy with their stay and I can always get coffee (important!) any time of the day. The hotel is always very clean and that is an important issue with me. The pool is small, but cozy in there and my grandkids love to swim there when they come on trips with me. The location is great - near the university, shopping, and downtown. The shuttle from the hotel will take you most anywhere you want if driving is an issue. I would recommend the Inntowner to anyone traveling to Madison.

Room Tip: The Highland Club has a nice cocktail hour in the evenings, drinks and appetizers available. Nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat5573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
2.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS InnTowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS InnTowner

Address: 2424 University Ave, Madison, WI 53726-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $128 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS InnTowner 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western PLUS InnTowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing