We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in All.. OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western West Towne Suites
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“All in All.. OK”
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Can't fault the breakfast. Very reasonable pricing for all, considered. The A/C didn't work with a hoot. Other party with us got a room upgrade due to the odor in her room.

All in all.. ok for the rate.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank crackofdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    114
    55
    26
    16
See reviews for
139
82
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Huge clean rooms, great soundproofing, seamless wifi, and a true made to order breakfast make this property a great value. The beds are comfortable, there is a fridge in the room, and plenty of workspace. Although this is an older property, it is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Great for business travelers, extended stays, or families. No elevator, so request a ground floor room if you don't want to take the stairs.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ValuCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This is a low budget hotel with many amenties of a 5 star (and some more). We booked a king room and obtained a suite with a kitchenette for the same price (71.00 with AAA discount).

1) King bed (perfect firmness--do-not-disturb quality). The bed had enough pillows for every part of the body (total of 6).

2) Kitchenette - Electric stove with 2 urns, coffeemaker, microwave, mini fridge, some pots, and utensils. There is a supermarket near by (Cub Foods). My husband prepared lunch and dinner during our stay. Breakfast was included with the room. No other meals are served, but many, many restaurants in walking distance including McDonald's and Burger King.

3) Free cook-to-order breakfast - You have a choice of one of the following: 2 buttermilk pancakes and sausage or bacon, 2 eggs (any style) with hash brown, and sausage or bacon, 2 french toast with hash brown, and sausage or bacon or cold/hot cereals. 24-hour coffee service.

4) Internet service - Free

5) Excercise Room - Equipped with treadmills, stationary bicycles, climbing machines, free weights and some other machines I can't recall. Cold water and towels available.

  • Liked — The kitchenette -- if you're trying to save some money, this is the place to go for a clean, safe, and pleasant stay.
  • Disliked — There was absolutely NOTHING I did not like--and I can be picky at times.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPeach194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delware
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Don't stay at Best Western West Towne Suites if your a non smoker. I booked directly through the Best Western 800 number almost 1 year prior to our stay and requested 2 non smoking rooms. Upon check in I was told that our reservation was for non smoking if available but was told the hotel was sold out. Of course so was almost every other hotel in the area so we didn't have many choices of where we could go. After the other couple we traveled with threatened to leave & I was able to produce my email that clearly said we had a non smoking reservation our friends were able to get a non smoking room (even after the assistant manager said none were available). Since our friend was sick already we let them have the non smoking room. I told the desk that since no other non smoking rooms were available we would try to stay in the smkoing room. By the second night I was gasping for air and I even tried to mask the smoke smell with Febreeze (no help)and got less than 4 hours sleep. Finally by Sunday a non smoking room was available and we were moved. I told the front desk that I was going to complain to Best Western but they didn't mention to me that they are independently owned and complaining to Best Western wouldn't help at all. Well after contacting both Best Western and the hotel directly I was basically told too bad. They got my money and that's that. I should have known when we checked in and another family was checking in only to find the crib they "reserved" wasnt available.

  • Liked — made to order breakfast
  • Disliked — not having a non smoking room when we booked it, non friendly assitant manager
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vinamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2006

The room here (I am sitting in room 135 writing this) is fine, although there are a few age-related details that an apparent renovation missed. There's a huge "Newly Renovated" banner hanging off the front of the hotel, but the toilet in our rooms leaks constantly (way to conserve water there, Best Western) and I opened the tank lid to find it black with mildew. The other plumbing fixtures (shower controls, sinks) look about 20 years old, which is about 500 in hotel years and should have been replaced during anything called a renovation. There's *redecorating*, and then there's *renovating*, and the two are not to be confused. Strike one.

Strike two is the basic construction flaw that can't be fixed with renovation; namely, wood framing rather than concrete understructure mean that this place is as noisy as an apartment under a bowling alley. A pack of hyenas (did I say hyenas? I mean, "some people") checked into the room above us, and they rise with the chickens every morning and stomp around from 6:00 AM until they finally, blessedly, depart to go and stomp around somewhere else for a while. I've told the front desk twice about the noise problem, and the response was to call their room. I was told there was no answer.

The point of that particular story is that if this room is noisy, ALL of them are. Don't be looking to catch up on any actual rest here, because this place literally thumps with every guest's every step, all day and night. Pack earplugs, sleeping pills, and a white noise machine, 'cause you're gonna need 'em.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank ElsiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western West Towne Suites for one night during the WIAA State Basketball Tournament. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. They serve a made to order breakfast that consists of eggs, bacon, pancakes, french toast, juice, etc.

The shower head in the bathroom was rather surprising too. There was lots of water pressure and plenty of hot water! This hotel is really reasonable in price and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kookykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2006

We had been in Madison for a wedding and had stayed in the centre of town for 3days before moving here on the outskirts for another 2 nights. This place was exactly what we needed, cheap, clean and ideal road connections for exploring the Wisconsin countryside. There were loads of places to eat within a couple of minutes drive (all info, including directions, gained from the hotel brocure). The nearby mall was only 5mins walk. Rooms were very large compared to what we would get in England, there was no noise from the freeway and we found the staff very helpful. Granted there was nothing special about the hotel but we hadn't paid for a hotel like that.
If your visiting Madison to see the city you can get closer accomodation but if your off exploring the surrounding areas this is all you need.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#16 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western West Towne Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western West Towne Suites

Property: Best Western West Towne Suites
Address: 650 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western West Towne Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near West Towne Mall, this Madison Hotel is situated at a short drive from Alliant Energy Center, CUNA, EPIC, University Research Park and downtown. Visitors to Reddan Soccer park, UW and VA Hospitals also prefer to stay here. This 100% smoke-free Hotel has free fast WI-FI and free cooked-to-order Breakfast. Hotel provides a 24-hour fitness facility and free pass to YMCA, 24-hour Complimentary Coffee, USA Today and Business Center. All Guest Rooms have luxurious Mattresses, microwaves, refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western West Towne Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Towne Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing