We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub Par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
“Sub Par”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The beds were comfortable. The hotel needed a "face lift" or even some cosmetic touch ups. I was disappointed in the "made to order" breakfast as it wasn't very tasty. I kind of wish I'd stayed at my other hotel option and will next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you for the feedback. I would like to assure you that we will take all the steps to improve on the items you were not satisfied with. It is good to know that you liked the comfort of the bed.
thank you
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    114
    54
    25
    13
See reviews for
136
82
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Best Western

Stayed for one night at this nice hotel in Madison, Wisconsin as on route going back home to Canada. Got in later afternoon from driving from Cincinnati. Check in was very fast and front desk girl was very nice. Good parking on property and also was very easy to find. Nice clean lobby and hallways very nice. Room was very big and very clean. Had a nice sofa and great big bed. The Flat screen tv was very clear . Nice fridge, kitchenette in room as well. The morning included breakfast was amazing. I would come back here again just for the breakfast. The waffles were amazing. This is Nice location across from a shopping mall and near several restaurants. Mall is one of the best ones in Madison so thats a plus and many many great places to eat in area. Like Denny's and a few fast food places. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous enough. There is also free Wifi. I did this as a solo trip. Would recommend this hotel to any type of traveller. Seem like a good area. Good for one or 2 nights stay. Easy access off the Interstate. would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the breakfast. The waffles are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Worldtravellers123,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, especially cooked-to-order waffles. Please feel to try fresh cooked eggs or pancakes or french toast on your next stay with us.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We have become very wary of. Best Westerns unless they are the Plus or Premier level, so we were unsure of what we would find here. Everything else in the area was booked so we were forced into booking here. But all went well for a two night stay. The suite is standard and the decor is nothing to get excited about, but the bed was comfortable, the shower nice, and it was clean. front desk staff friendly. best part was cooked to order hot breakfast. Internet connection was fine. Price was low...but appropriate for this property. Just don't expect a fancy high end experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for trusting our hotel when booking and i am glad we met your expectations. All Best Westerns are making tremendous improvements and i can promise you that in future you would not have to be wary about your experience at the Best Western hotels. We offer best value in town, that we are proud of.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice location across from a shopping mall and near several restaurants. Nice big room with refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast. Congenial staff. Overall a good place to stay for a reasonable price..

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jody,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleased to find out that you liked the location, hotel amenities and your interaction with our staff.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I booked this accommodation because I was familiar with the brand and there was a special on the internet. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous enough. There is also free Wifi. But that's where the positives end.

Under the category of negatives, be aware that this motel is not located in the best area: while relatively close to a mall, it is surrounded by older stores and a block away from a U-Haul lot. There were also seedy types using the street out front from time to time . The building itself is in need of a new carpet, and the units require a complete renovation. My room was dingy, the bed linens had not been changed in what appeared to be a few days, the mattress was lumpy with worn springs, and the door (1970s-80s style) clanged shut with a bang. Then there's the "free on order" breakfast which is not a plus given what is provided. Better quality and more generous portions of food can be found at the buffet breakfasts of other similar level national chains.

Taking all of these items into account, therefore, this lodging grades out below average and is not worth a second visit.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose a room opposite the street and NOT on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand-da-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to know that your overall experience was not great, except your interaction with staff and WI-FI access. We will make sure that we address all the shortcomings you have mentioned. I hope you would give us another opportunity to show that we can do better.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Right near the college. All things simple and to the point, nothing more nothing less. Had a good nights sleep, It was clean and quite and well decorated. Just the right place for relaxing. i will recommended this hotel to the people who need to stay outside the town with pleasant environment

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Notbad U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. and thank you for your confidence in recommending our hotel. We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Madison.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wetmore, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

great place to stay for va hospital visits..special rates to va hospital guests and complimentary hot breakfast, conveniently located by a major highway and access to va hospital, staff very helpful, now has shuttle service, the staff is very friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Linda,
Its great to hear from you and we always appreciate your patronage. We enjoy having you and your husband stay with us. Thank you for always remembering us when you come to Madison and on your visit to VA Hospital.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#16 of 63 in Madison
492 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Address: 650 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near West Towne Mall, this Madison Hotel is situated at a short drive from Alliant Energy Center, CUNA, EPIC, University Research Park and downtown. Visitors to Reddan Soccer park, UW and VA Hospitals also prefer to stay here. This 100% smoke-free Hotel has free fast WI-FI and free cooked-to-order Breakfast. Hotel provides a 24-hour fitness facility and free pass to YMCA, 24-hour Complimentary Coffee, USA Today and Business Center. All Guest Rooms have luxurious Mattresses, microwaves, refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Towne Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing