We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Rude staff!!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Got a room on 9/21/12 Friday. I'm coming in town once a week for the badger game. After staying here. Omg. I will never do it again. The front desk with no help. Took me like hour to check in. If I had known that this hotel staff members were so rude I never would have stayed there!!! Never again will I stay there!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John608123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
I'm sorry to know that it took time for you to checkin at the Hotel. Particularly on the Badger football game weekends it can get busy at times. As you may have noticed we have full staff, 2 to 3 people working at the desk to make it as fast as possible. I would like to assure you that this happens very rarely and only if number of guests happen to come at the same time.
I'm glad you scored us high for the other categories of your survey. I hope this won't keep you away from our Hotel and you would give us another opportunity to provide a great experience next time.
Thank You for your feedback.
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    114
    54
    25
    13
See reviews for
136
82
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for three days when dropping our daughter off at the University. We enjoyed the stay and will return.

We had a King bed room with a sleeper sofa. The room was plenty big and the beds were comfortable. The first night our daughter slept on the sleeper sofa since the dorms weren't open yet. She didn't have any problems sleeping.

The room was air conditioned and we needed that because it was in the 90's every day we were there. It's nice to come back to a cool room. We didn't hear any road noise or noise from the adjoining rooms.

The hotel provides a free newspaper every day (USA Today) which I loved and a free hot breakfast. The breakfast included your choice of pancakes, french toast, waffles, or eggs cooked to order. There was also juice, coffee, cereal, bagels, and fruit. It was a nice way to start each day. One day there was only one cook on duty and she was pretty busy and the service was slower than the other days.

We had one problem with the maid staff, One morning, the maid knocked just as we were getting ready to leave for the day and we asked for a minute to gather our things. Apparently, she thought we were declining her services for the day because she never returned to clean the room. It may have been a language problem. We were able to get clean towels from the front desk.

The location was great. It is right off the beltway and easy to find. Just to the North and west is a mall, gas station, and several restaurants. The hotel was about 15 minutes from the University, not too close and not too far.

All-in-all, it was a great stay. The price was right and we enjoyed the facilities. When we're back in Madison, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colo_Traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time and providing your feedback. I'm thrilled to know that you enjoyed our amenities and convenience of the Hotel location from the University of Wisconsin. I apologize for the mis-communication with our House keeping staff. I have taken appropriate actions to ensure that this is not repeated.
Sincerely
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The sole reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because there are better places to stay in Madison, but if you're looking for a great hotel at a very reasonable price, this is it! West Towne Suites is very close to downtown and all the activity of Madison. Literally from the hotel you can get to downtown in 15 minutes. It's also within minutes of West Towne Mall and Odana Antiques which is a 28,000 sq.ft. antiques building that is a must see if you enjoy antiques. Very relaxing and the employees are great. Also near Longhorn Steakhouse which is fantastic for a great meal. We stayed here for 2 nights, our room was clean and spacious, and we barely heard a peep from any of the neighboring rooms. The front desk attendants were always nice and helpful. The hotel does not have elevators, so if you need accommodations it's best to ask while booking. The on site exercise room is very nice and clean with up to date equipment and a skylight to get natural light while you exercise. The breakfast is fantastic, with 4 cook to order choices and hearty helpings along with cold cereal options, bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, juice, and coffee. Overall, this was a great hotel that I would be more than happy to stay with again in the future. With taxes and fees, I was able to get a 2 nights stay from orbitz.com via Trip Advisor for $178.

Room Tip: ask for ground level if you have walking issues, wheelchair, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the feedback. It is my pleasure to know that you liked our Cooked-to-order Breakfast, fitness center and the service from our staff. Your feedback helps us to know what is that we are doing right and where we need to make improvements. I'm glad to share that we are in process of installing an elevator at the Hotel. It should in by the end of this year. In the meantime if you are here please ask for 1st floor Room and my staff will be happy to arrange one.
Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for a night prior to football season. The hotel was clean and comfortable and easy to get to. It's right on the interstate but we didn't hear any noise from the traffic. The room was clean and spacious. The evening front desk staff was helpful and very friendly. The morning breakfast buffet was pretty standard but convenient to have while we got ready for the day. This hotel is close to West Towne mall and lots of chain restaurants. And downtown Madison is less than a 10 minute drive away. I would def recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattnjennie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your patronage. It is wonderful to know that you liked our location very much with a big Mall and numerous restaurants in the area. and i'm glad you enjoyed the Hotel amenities aswell.
With Best Wishes
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived with the fam (5 of us) after a day in Madison on our way to the Dells.

Just a few min from Madison downtown and just off the highway. Close to shops.

Great location for us.

Room was great (2 br). Beds comfortable. Breakfast was good. Pass to the Y gym was perfect (there's also a cute little gym in the hotel).

And the price is Great....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
It's good to know that you had a great experience while staying at our Hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Sincerely
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a reasonably - priced small hotel in west Madison. I would describe it as good for the price, but some of the rooms need serious updating. Each room has a small kitchenette and full size fridge. Though the staff was friendly, the hotel was short staffed so that if the only person at the front was needed to help someone (like take the bags upstairs), there would be no one manning the front desk, so a couple of evenings went by when I couldn't even order a morning wake-up call. The rooms are noisy - you'll hear other doors slamming shut and people walking around and playing ball in the parking lot outside.

There is a hot, decent breakfast included in the cost.

Room Tip: The second floor is a little bit quieter, but be aware - there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank You for the feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I'm glad you liked the price of the Room and our complimentary Breakfast. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Randee Talwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuluota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Best Western is a very clean and comfortable hotel, with a great bed, modern amenities, and a great breakfast. You have three choices of prepared hot items made to order by an excellent staff each morning. That is how you start a great day when you are on the road. The guest laundry has 2 washers and 3 dryers, which comes in handy when you stay out for 2 weeks or more. Thanks to everyone on the staff for making this a pleasurable stay!

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a suite on the first floor near one of the side exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cre8iveBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst1108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank You for staying at BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites and taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and our signature Breakfast in the mornings. It is good to know that you found our facility and service very comfortable for long term stay with the extended stay facilities we offer.
Thank You again and hope to see you on your next visit to Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#15 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Address: 650 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near West Towne Mall, this Madison Hotel is situated at a short drive from Alliant Energy Center, CUNA, EPIC, University Research Park and downtown. Visitors to Reddan Soccer park, UW and VA Hospitals also prefer to stay here. This 100% smoke-free Hotel has free fast WI-FI and free cooked-to-order Breakfast. Hotel provides a 24-hour fitness facility and free pass to YMCA, 24-hour Complimentary Coffee, USA Today and Business Center. All Guest Rooms have luxurious Mattresses, microwaves, refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Towne Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing