We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free is Good!”

Madison Museum of Contemporary Art
Ranked #33 of 101 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a soaring, Cesar Pelli designed building on State Street, the Madison Museum of Contemporary Art provides free exhibitions and education programs that engage people in modern and contemporary art. The four galleries offer changing exhibitions that feature established and emerging artists. The Rooftop Sculpture Garden provides an urban oasis with an incredible view.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Free is Good!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

MMoCA is a must-stop when on State Street. Besides the fact that they have intriguing exhibits (right now, for example, the Ellsworth Kelly Prints show is a wake-up call for your eyes with its bold color!), there’s also a gift shop with a plethora of wallet-tempting items you won’t find anywhere else as well as a rooftop sculpture garden (a terrific urban hideaway!) and restaurant (Fresco). Best of all: admission to the museum is free (though donations are certainly welcomed), and how often can you say that these days?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Artsy fun”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Intriguing and interesting. I enjoyed the displays and was impressed by the variety and versitility of the museum.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrystalMelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I'm not "into" art but I definitely enjoyed my visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

First, the location of the museum is just so accessible. We just wandered in from State Street as we were going to UW to watch the fireworks display. The two exhibits were intriguing and well put together.

As I said, I'm not into art, but I might become a convert if I lived in Madison.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dallasokie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A wonderful museum displaying art for various artists. An area for children to learn about art. A rooftop sculpture area with a few pieces on display. Close to the Capital and other attractions. Lots of metered multi level parking garages in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ILBoomerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Exhibit of Cecilia Condit wonderful”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Rocks and water in video and photographs, very nice. What a fine museum right on State Street. Don't miss the lovely gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Museum of Contemporary Art also viewed

 

Been to Madison Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing