We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is good...”
Review of Capitol Chophouse

Capitol Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Capitol Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 985 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Pinckney Street
Description: Capitol ChopHouse is a destination spot not just for hotel guests, but locals as well. Executive Chef Sean Pharr’s style, menu and leadership raises the bar for hotel restaurants and steakhouses alike. The only place in Madison to find Prime Steaks! Enjoy the professional atmosphere and service for business lunches or dinners. Imbibe from a unique wine selection, our servers will recommend an excellent pairing for you! Our three private dining rooms can accommodate up to 40 people for your special occasion or important business dinner. Inquire with an event planner to create a customized experience your guests won’t forget!
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Food is good...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food and service were on par with an upscale steakhouse with prices to match. The atmosphere, however, was a far cry from that. Very average scene with doors perpetually open to the hotel lobby and a bar no different than any in downtown Madison.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctsurgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmsford, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Breakfast brunch was okay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The great coffee and terricfic croissants rescued the other wise average buffet breakfast. Convenient to the Hilton and the convention center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SAREsq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1,026 reviews
780 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Overpriced...”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've only been here once because Capitol Chophouse sucked my wallet dry that day.

I had the 18 oz. ribeye, which was juicy and tender. The Capitol chop salad was pretty good too. I have absolutely no complaints about the food itself.

But I just can't justify coming here. The $$$ sign on Yelp should be changed to $$$$. Capitol Chophouse is definitely a pricey restaurant. I'm assuming it's because rent downtown, and especially within a hotel, is high. For the price you pay, there are surely better options out there. Try Tornado if you haven't already. Costs are more or less the same, but the quality and options are a lot better.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but overpriced”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Today my friends and I stopped in for the restaurant week 3 course lunch menu. We all chose the house salads for the appetizers and steak frites for the entrees and for desserts we ended up with one of each of the three options (blueberry crumble, caramel brownie and the peaches with shortbread). The salads were typical house salads though these were made with spring lettuce instead of romaine which I prefer, though may not be for everyone. The steak frites were turned into sandwiches that were served with an amazing horseradish mayo. The fact that it was a sandwich was not conveyed by the menu. The blueberry cobbler and the brownies were delicious. The peach shortcake was not very good though. The peaches had an off taste. My friend switched the peach shortcake for the brownie and she was made happy. Our waitress Stephanie was WONDERFUL. I even heard the lady at the table next to us raving to the manager about how wonderful Stephanie is. With that being said I would probably not return unless they had a special (like restaurant week) because there are many better restaurants around for more reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vipasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Meal”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

An excellent and varied menu, The food was expertly prepared, and beautifully served. The wine list and suggestions were perfect compliments.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gbraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capitol Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing