We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Pricey With Better Alternatives Close By”
Review of Capitol Chophouse

Capitol Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Capitol Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 990 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $12 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Pinckney Street
Description: Capitol ChopHouse is a destination spot not just for hotel guests, but locals as well. Executive Chef Sean Pharr’s style, menu and leadership raises the bar for hotel restaurants and steakhouses alike. The only place in Madison to find Prime Steaks! Enjoy the professional atmosphere and service for business lunches or dinners. Imbibe from a unique wine selection, our servers will recommend an excellent pairing for you! Our three private dining rooms can accommodate up to 40 people for your special occasion or important business dinner. Inquire with an event planner to create a customized experience your guests won’t forget!
De Forest, WI
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Bit Pricey With Better Alternatives Close By”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location in the Hilton makes this a convenient stop for travelers and while the food is good, there are much better values to be found in short walking distance. The interior and service are going for a "private club" kind of feel. The prices match. It is not that the food is bad -- it is not. Very good cuts, good quality, good wine selection, good service. The limiter here is that ultimately you can get 95% of the experience here at 60% of the cost elsewhere. Nothing unique or amazing that draws you back to pay the premium.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ragefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late night visit after the Iron Man”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We came here late on a Sunday night after cheering on family during the Iron Man race. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. We ordered a red pasta and a ravioli dish -- both were average. The bread and caprese salad we had before the pasta dishes were both excellent though. Not bad considering we were exhausted and it was late, but overpriced considering it was just so-so.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMSAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed with Bridal Party!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I ate here during a bridal lucheon vent. The menu was pre-selected but very good. The service was perfect considering our table was very large and had about 8 small children in attendance.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccflynn102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wiscosnin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quality has gone down hill”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have eaten at the Chop House 8-10 times since it opened. The other night we had a very disappointing meal. The service was very good though. My crab cakes arrived nearly burned. The crust was very black, but they were tasty when I pulled off the burned part. We shared a Caesar salad. It was good as usual but absolutely swimming in dressing. My husband ordered the Onion soup for an appetizer. It was inedible, just terrible and he is sure he ordered it here before and it was good/ His Filet was excellent as usual
We did not complain, as we had taken another couple to dinner on business.
The ambience is nice but I'm not sure we will return with guests anytime soon. Had we not been with others, we would have sent the crab cakes and soup back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 35islandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Class is Class..one of Madison's best.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's classic, comfortable, romantic, and great food and service. I just love it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maralora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capitol Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing