We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Awesome hotel!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location. Clean rooms. Excellent guest service! Kristin Mitchell was amazing -very attentive, welcoming and friendly!! Food was excellent - very fresh and flavorful!!! Casey and Brandon were wonderful! Will definitely be back. Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Wow thanks for the great review. It is not often that staff members are mentioned by name
but thank you for doing so. I have shared your compliments with Casey, Kristin and Brandon and they were honored that you mentioned them by name. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done! We thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    77
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
45
27
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
No. California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This property is a bit removed from the Capitol (our destination) but there was a triathlon and football game that weekend Distance was approximately 8 miles. The room was quite comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating and handled the crowd well. They printed out a map of nearest restaurants and grocery store. We would recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2onvacaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Service with hotel reservation via telephone was not very helpful; reception area small and unwelcoming; front desk staff were not always welcoming or very professional; repairs in room bath were not taken care of; breakfast should be free given price per night's stay; rooms were average; beds were comfortable; check out was not extremely efficient or professional; location was good and out of beaten trail of downtown Madison; cost for a nights stay is much too high for what you get or don't get; this is more of a two-two and one-half star hotel than a three star hotel; there are better values, more professional service, and enjoyable/friendly accommodations just down the road in the same area that are definitely three stars

Room Tip: Courtyard Marriot is a better value and just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deetzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear deetzk,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We value you as our guest and we appreciate your opinion. Allow us to apologize that you did not receive the quality customer service and high standard accommodations that we are renowned for. We regret that you left unsatisfied with the level of the staff response. We will ensure that these issues are addressed so this does not re-occur in the future. We would cherish a chance to prove our true hospitality should your travels bring you here again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice huge room. We were upgraded when we arrived! Bed was comfy. Excellent service. We will stay again. Hotel is only about 15 minutes by car to downtown. Well worth the affordability. Workout room looked nice as well as the pool. Wish breakfast was complimentary, but it wasn't.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the best Holiday Inn by far. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, awesome pool and jacuzzi, friendly bar with great food and drink specials. I only stay here when I am in Madison, WI. The shuttle is God sent and seats 11. Mall and restaurants are very close. Perfect for the family or an intimate get away with your partner.

Shawnda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the very favorable comment. It's always great to hear positive comments and I will certainly see that they are shared with our staff members. Thanks for choosing us as the place to stay in Madison and we hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn while I was in town taking the Wisconsin State Bar Exam. My stay could not have been more pleasant. Every staff member, from the front desk to the general manager, head chef, and sales team, was more than willing to assist each one of their guests with anything they needed. On top of being extremely knowledgable and professional, they were all kind and pleasant, a real rarity in the service industry. I will definitely be a returning guest as soon as I am back in the Madison area!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommie3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the staff and your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in the professional and friendly service we extend to each of our guests. We know that during your time with us you were a bit stressed with the big Bar Exam and hopefully our hospitality took a bit off the edge. The entire staff is excited to hear that you successfully completed the exam. CONGRATULATIONS FROM ALL OF US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice. It isn't the largest Holiday Inn, but is one of the nicer ones. Very clean, updated decor, and friendly staff. Fitness room has awesome equipment. As a platinum Priority Club member, we were upgraded to a suite and it was awesome. Very spacious and pretty, and bed was comfortable.
Room service breakfast was good. Location is more business oriented, which is appealing when you're hoping for quiet rather than noisy kids running the hallways.
Not many restaurants nearby, but the one that was close, Erin's Snug Irish Pub is wonderful. I highly recommend it. Good food and good bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so happy that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are proud of the property and the level of service we offer our guests. Our fitness room is very popular and offer's state-of-the art equipment by "Matrix". Our own "Geier's Grill' offers a wide variety of tasty menu items and is a great place to end the day but Erin's Snug Irish Pub located nearby is very popular as well. Thank you for being a Platinum member and your brand loyalty. We hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#18 of 63 in Madison
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#21 of 63 in Madison
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center

Property: Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Address: 5109 W Terrace Dr, Madison, WI 53718-8344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center welcomes you! Located in The American Center Corporate Park on Madison's east side and only minutes from the Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and the East Towne Mall.Visitors can relax amid peaceful surroundings and enjoy the area attractions such as the Capitol Square, Madison's historic State Street, the Overture Center for the Arts, the Alliant Energy Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Just off I90/94, corporate guests can easily access American Family Insurance, Alliant Energy, QBE, GE Healthcare, and U.S. Cellular. While staying at our Madison, Wisconsin hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a full service restaurant and bar, Seattle's best coffee kiosk, island themed indoor pool with spa and professionally designed fitness center featuring top of the line Matrix equipment. Our comfortable and contemporary guest rooms offer free high-speed wired/wireless Internet access, flat panel HDTV's, room service and a personal refrigerator. Host your next meeting or event with us and let our professional staff assist you. With over 2,500sq ft. of meeting space, on-site catering, executive chef and audiovisual equipment available your next event is guaranteed to be a success! As you plan a trip to Madison, WI, check out our terrific Madison hotel rates and make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madison At The American Hotel Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing