We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch is beautiful”
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Ranked #8 of 985 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arena, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brunch is beautiful”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I dined out with four other ladies for brunch on a Saturday. The bellinis were very tasty and everyone was thrilled with their food and drinks. The restaurant was clean and I liked seeing the waitstaff in "traditional" attire (white shirts, black trousers). The restaurant does have bathrooms, but they are located on a lower level which I do not know if it is wheelchair accessible. I look forward to dining here again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    171
    46
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to Sardine twice in the last trip to Wisconsin. Mistake. Had the Mussels - and paid dearly for it. The gasses coming from my body could have been bottled for chemical warfare. The service was OK, food was just poor. Many people had the Steak Frites which clams to have a rib eye steak. The steak was actually a flank steak, over cooked and tons of fat. None of the people in our party even finished the steak. The mussels were dry. I am sure they killed something inside me with the way I felt for the three days after. I have eatten there in years past and it was impressive, however I think they must have changed the supplier and the kitchen staff. Food was overly rich and I would not and will not go back. Very dissapointing as the head of the group must have spent in excess of 1500 over the visits. Ashame when you find a good place and when you go back in has really gone down hill.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Favorite outdoor dining in Madtown”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When the weather is nice, there is no comparison to Sardine's outdoor patio overlooking Lake Monona. This is also an awesome happy hour spot that is great for groups. To get the biggest bang for your buck, share a a duck confit salad and the appetizer portion of moules frites. Best mussels in town!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wisconsin_foodie_150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the grilled rainbow trout”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent PEI oysters and grilled trout with carmelized brussel sprouts. Great waiter, sat at the bar, enjoyed the wine recommendations and choices. Excellent customer service. Would definitely go there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvand00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Rather Dissapointed”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Sardine for brunch with high expectations because of good reviews. The location is excellent and the service was good, but we were left dissapointed by an uneven quality of food. Whereas grilled pork sausages and crab, bacon and rock shrimp cakes were fine, the norwegian salmon was oversalted at one edge and sandwich with braised pork was ruined by being soggy. Bloody Mary also appeared to be too strong on the juice. The bill came to a reasonable $65 for a party of four before tips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LabRat_2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing