We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Favorite outdoor dining in Madtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Ranked #10 of 963 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Favorite outdoor dining in Madtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

When the weather is nice, there is no comparison to Sardine's outdoor patio overlooking Lake Monona. This is also an awesome happy hour spot that is great for groups. To get the biggest bang for your buck, share a a duck confit salad and the appetizer portion of moules frites. Best mussels in town!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wisconsin_foodie_150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    158
    44
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the grilled rainbow trout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent PEI oysters and grilled trout with carmelized brussel sprouts. Great waiter, sat at the bar, enjoyed the wine recommendations and choices. Excellent customer service. Would definitely go there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvand00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rather Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Sardine for brunch with high expectations because of good reviews. The location is excellent and the service was good, but we were left dissapointed by an uneven quality of food. Whereas grilled pork sausages and crab, bacon and rock shrimp cakes were fine, the norwegian salmon was oversalted at one edge and sandwich with braised pork was ruined by being soggy. Bloody Mary also appeared to be too strong on the juice. The bill came to a reasonable $65 for a party of four before tips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LabRat_2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“Really good place for a snack and also for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I ate there one of the best burgers I've ever had. The dinner was also very good with way above average vegetables. Prices are moderate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank McGee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stand out in Mad Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

First trip to Sardine and for sure not the last. From the moment we walked in the door I know it was going to be good. The atmosphere is awesome, the staff is friendly, always smiling and exudes customer service. Our waiter was great, helpfully explained each of the specials very clearly and said he had sampled each and recommended them. I took his advise and was very satisfied. The topper of it all was the "Grapefruit Olive Oil cake" sounded intriguing to say the least but was blown away eating it. Really enjoyable flavored that pleased the palette

If you haven't been to Sardine, it is a must!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClemWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing