We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome brunch”
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Ranked #8 of 995 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Awesome brunch”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had always wanted to eat dinner here when in town visiting family but had never done so. On this visit we were celebrating a birthday with a Sunday brunch and the birthday girl selected Sardines. It was a good thing we had a reservation because being Parent's weekend and a football game weekend this place was jammed. The menu featured some great choices. Not your typical breakfast/brunch items. It was difficult to choose. Everyone raved about what they ordered. My Croque Monsieur was excellent as was the Bloody Mary. The only minus was that the service was fairly slow once we had ordered but I think the kitchen was suffering from an unusually big crowd on this sunny Sunday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    175
    48
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, nice service, nice food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just in front of the Monona lake. Wonderful getting there after a short walk along the lake side. I have been there in septermber, 2012. I had a Madison salami, prosciutto and cheese appetizer, a pork loin with mushrooms and salad. Red wine shiraz. Really tasteful dinner. Waiters well dressed, clean and well-mannered. Prices a little too high, I paid 60$.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackFeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour and Oyster Bar”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The scenery from the patio looking onto the lake is nice. Would like to be closer to the water and avoid the parking lot but seems like there are challenges with having water front restaurants as they were difficult to come by in Madison. We arrived just as happy hour was starting and requested the patio as it was a gorgeous September day. We were told the patio is reserved for priority guests who will be dining so if we were just going to have a drink we may be asked to move. This initially put me off,. However, we did end up ordering some oysters and they were the most delicious oysters I have ever had. I will not forget the "watermelon" tast that we were promised as the waiter was describing what was available to order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 30somethingfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fine dining on Machinery Row”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had been to this restaurant when it first opened and found the snooty service spoiled the experience. Now, years later, we thought we would try again. I called the evening before for a reservation for six. For some reason it took two people and a long hold to sort it out. On arrival we were escorted to our table in a mostly empty dining room. The place gradually filled so that it was bustling by the time we left. We shared oysters as one of our hors d'oeuvres and they confirmed the reputation of the place. The other hors d'oeuvre was battered and fried vegetables that was less inspired. Our party had entrees ranging from pasta to fish (salmon and red lake trout) to lamb chops. All seemed to enjoy their choice. The server was pleasant, hitting just the right level of information and warmth. On our prior trip we had also noticed that the hard surfaces made for a noisy environment, but I didn't notice that this time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquadroplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant, good food, slow service”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The food is excellent: French-styled cuisine, lovely raw oysters. The restaurant is set in an old industrial building (which seems par for the course with fine dining for some reason), but the service, while attentive, was slow for some reason.

Overall this is a restaurant with very good food in an interesting location with competent staff which has a problem with promptness of delivery. If it figures that out then it will be a solid 5 rating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yojimbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing