We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely will stay here for UW trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely will stay here for UW trips”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Location could not be better. Short walking distance to campus to the west and State Street/Capitol to the East. Staff was AWESOME, have never had better service. Rooms great, beds so comfy, everything clean and smelled fresh. Breakfast had large assortment. Restaurant on site is a must!! Example of excellent service I received - it was raining one day as I headed out and the lady offered me an umbrella! Every time I came out of elevator I got smiles, eye contact and greeted. Wonderful AND super location!! Tip - ask for higher floor to avoid street noise, ask to face front to avoid awkward views of apartments.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricket1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
This is great news, thank you! We are proud to be a part of the UW community and for the 'home base' for University events we're becoming. Please consider us for future stays and know we'll be championing the Badgers!

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    126
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
377
206
38
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The staff was very accomidating to early check-in when their occupancy permits. Great complimentary continental breakfast selection. The bed was very comfortable considering you don't typically sleep the best when you are away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 601lenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share a bit of your experience with us! You captured succinctly all that we seek to deliver to every guest: clean, friendly and comfortable. The Upper Midwest has a reputation for nice people but we think we have some of the best. Thank you for the feedback and know we look forward to your next stay!

warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Location is great for anything to do with the university, capitol building, arts and museums. Staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. We arrived 3.5 hours before check-in, but they had a room with a lake view on the top floor ready for us in a few minutes. Nice bath, comfortable beds, quiet. Breakfast was better than most such in the US, with eggs, ham, cereals, yogurts, etc. Would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Views on the top (10th) floor are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverwest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Riverwest48,

Thanks very much for the kind words, they are greatly appreciated. We love being close to the campus and the great museums around town, makes it easy for all of our guests! I am glad you enjoyed your room adn the great breakfast. We've been rolling out new items and they have been well received.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I am a frequent Hilton guest, and Hampton Inns are usually a mid-market property for this brand. But this hotel is new and quite a find. Rooms are clean, staff is great, location is convenient, and price was right. We easily walked to the Terrace and the Capitol. We had a room on the 10th floor, which gave us a great view and made for a quiet night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyMae48201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear DaisyMae48201,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed your room and the great view.
Thank you again for the kinds words. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
413 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for graduation last weekend. It was lovely. The hotel rooms were spacious, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, and the common areas were well thought out. Price was right and the location, if you are visiting a student at Madison, is perfect. My only complaint is that they charge $12/day for parking. Come on, really? That aside, it is an easy walk to State Street shops, restaurants by the Capital, even to the stadium for graduation or a football game. It is close to nearly all of the student housing, so even though you have to pay $12/day for parking you never have to move your car (which is key, because thee is no place to park in Madison anyway). We have stayed at the Doubletree in previous years as the Hampton Inn just opened in October. The Doubletree was always nice (and did not charge extra for parking!!!), though the elevator situation was horrible and their restaurant (Badgerland) was very mediocre. The Hampton is much nicer, and has a terrific free breakfast with lots of comfortable seating and an extended lobby that is great for hanging out. We also found the privately owned restaurant attached to the hotel - Bassett Brunch Club -- to be outstanding for breakfast. GREAT Donuts, and good cocktails in the evening. Sadly, our son has now graduated so we may not be back in Madison much, but this place is definitely tops in town if you are planning a visit.

Room Tip: The executive king suites with a King bed, and pull out sofa are very spacious and comfortable and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear crkport,

Thank you for the great feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay over the graduation weekend. Thank you for the nice compliments, I will be sure to pass them on to the team. Your point on parking is certainly noted.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great place to stay in downtown Madison, we stayed on graduation weekend and the staff and accomodations were second to none. Parking is available also and the room was clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this to any Madison traveler.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Keith R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay over graduation weekend. Such a busy time in Madison! Now that they're out of school, don't be a stranger!
Thanks again for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Madison downtown Hampton Inn is excellent all around: excellent quality of the room, amenities, hotel common spaces, as well as the food. The hotel staff are professional, helpful, and friendly. The overall quality matches, if not exceeds, Hilton hotels. If all Hampton Inns were this wonderful, I would stay in them more often.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Kathryn R,

Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate the feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the hotel.
We look forward to you staying with us again soon! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Address: 440 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing