We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a premium experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent value for a premium experience.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was exquisitely furnished. The staff was all attentive to staff needs and would go out of their way to help guests. The breakfast was set up so there was minimal crowding by guests, and the next door coffee shop was excellent! I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sarah S,

Thank you for the kind words! We love our decor too, comfy yet so modern. Our staff works very hard to make sure every guest is 100 percent satisfied, I will gladly pass along the compliments!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    131
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
395
216
42
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
del mar, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Clean, modern, comfortable. Very friendly staff. The restaurant in the lobby is amazing! Best brunch foods ever and donuts to blow your mind! Short walk to U of W campus and capital. We were in town to tour the campus. Fitness center was very nice, clean with decent equiptment. Very secure hotel, cannot use elevator without room key. indoor pool and hot tub looked nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Laura L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The Bassett Street Brunch Club is indeed amazing, serving up the best donuts in town!
Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a fantastic hotel! The location is perfect, my room was super clean and comfortable and the bed and pillows are amazing. I was surprised by the $12 parking charge, didn't see it mentioned when I booked on hotels.com but felt it was worth it since I could walk to everywhere I wanted to go. My room faced Johnson St but I couldn't hear any road noise. I did hear hallway noise but it died down before I went to sleep. I highly recommend staying at this hotel for campus-area events.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKE1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear MKE1978,

Tahnk you for sharing your experience with us! We love our location too, it's right in the heart of the city. I am glad you were comfortable in your room. The pillows are great, aren't they? Thank you for the feedback about the parking not being listed on hotels.com, we are looking into this.
We look forward to having you back soon. Thank you again for the kind words and recommendation!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location, friendly helpful staff, fun campus environment close to activities and dorms, clean comfortable rooms, great breakfast with fresh fruit and a variety of foods. Lobby has a nice area to mingle with friends

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank kriso491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Kriso491,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments were so nice! I can't wait to share them with the staff.
Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I think you have hit a home run with this faclity. Great location for campus and downtown activities. The room layout and furnishings are well thought out. Just the right amount of furnishings without being crowded. Grateful for the fridge, microwave sink area (not always common for Hampton). Nice size TV adjustable for any location in the room. Well lit, nice work desk and ample electrical outlets in accessable locations. Our guests enjoyed the use of the lobby area to watch the Badger NCAA game. They also commented on the unique locally oriented artwork on the walls. All staff were energetic and eager to provide excellent service. Appreciate the nightlight in the bathroom. Will choose this property first when in Madison. Great job.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Fred B,

Thank you for the kind words! We agree, our location is smack dab in the middle of it all! It's nice to hear you enjoyed your room and our lobby area. We enjoy our artwork too, nothing better than looking at sunny Madison all day!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown during a recent apartment-hunting visit to Madison. We have stayed in many different Hampton Inns in the past and have come to appreciate their consistent cleanliness and value. This Hampton Inn is BY FAR the nicest Hampton Inn we have ever stayed at. The entire hotel is immaculately clean and the rooms sport a very modern "zen" feel (think the "W" hotel chain, although a lot less expensive). We had a standard King room with view overlooking Johnson Street and Lake Monona in the distance. The standard King room is a little on the small side, albeit not too small to feel cramped or uncomfortable. The minifridge and microwave in our room were welcome amenities which allowed us to chill some beer and prosecco while getting ready for dinner.

The location of the hotel within Madison is absolutely ideal. It is within walking distance of both the University and Capitol. We stepped outside of the lobby and were easily able to walk to a plethora of bars and restaurants. The hotel elevator is also directly connected to an adjacent parking garage, which offers hotel guests overnight parking at a reasonable price.

The price of the hotel was reasonable at $135/night before tax. Coming from Chicago, however, I was surprised to find that hotel rates in Madison in February are actually MORE expensive than Chicago hotel rates in February. Maybe it has something to do with the University? As my wife and I each had one too many cocktails while out in Madison, we arrived back at the hotel fairly late and overslept breakfast. While I can't comment on the quality of breakfast, the restaurant area adjacent to the hotel lobby looked very very nice. Again, nicest food service/restaurant area that I've ever seen in a Hampton Inn.

Check-in and check-out were both fast and easy and the staff running the front desk were incredibly friendly and pleasant. I must mention that there was a very large University event taking place at the hotel during the night of our stay. As a result, loud voices could be heard in the hallway outside our door throughout the night (and we didn't get back to the hotel until after 2:00am...). We did not find this bothersome as my wife and I are both very deep sleepers, although this may be an issue for lighter sleepers.

Overall we had a great stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown and will return next time we are in town. I am very impressed with the way that Hampton has developed this property and hope that they continue to renovate other properties in a similar fashion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skulboep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear skulboep,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it really means a lot. I am glad to hear you were comfortable in your room. We agree, our location can't be beat. I am pleased to hear you used our parkin ggarage, we love to hear how convenient and easy it is to use! Bassett Street Brunch Club is a great place, we are lucky to have them! Thank you for the compliments about our staff, they will be excited to hear them!
Thank you again for writing a review. We look forward to having you back soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the university and State street.
It appears recently updated, and was very clean and comfortable. The size of our room seemed a bit larger than Hilton's other more upscale brands. The staff was very friendly and offered great advice about the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanaspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Hanaspop,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We agree, being so close to the University and many restaurants and shops is a huge plus. Our hotel opened up about five months ago, so we are trying our best to keep it looking brand new. Thank you for the compliments about the staff. I will gladly pass them along!
Thank you again for the kind words and choosing to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Address: 440 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing