We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown(Madison)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Super 8 Madison South(Madison)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
Concourse Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Edgewater(Madison)
$151
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sheraton Madison Hotel(Madison)(Great Value!)
$146
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveler rating
972
152
29
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
152
29
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate streetgreat locationbassett street brunch clubkohl centerwithin walking distancemadison downtownattached restaurantparking garagefree breakfastuw campusdonutsroom keywould definitely stay here againexcellent hotelfront desk stafflobby areaa great stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

New hotel located in downton Madison: great and easy access to UW, UW sports venues, State capital. Very easy to drive to and on-site parking available. Close to many other restaurants, bars, coffee shops, etc. Exceeding helpful and friendly staff! Rooms are spacious, well equiped, internat access, large flat screen tvs, and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear James K,
Thank you for the kind words. We love being in the heart of the city, so close to the Kohl Center and many other attractions for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for the compliments about the staff, we have a great group here. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We can't wait to have you back!
Feel the Hamptonality,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel had everything that I was looking for while in Madison attending a Badger Hockey game on a Saturday. Walking distance to the Kohl Center for the game and State Street for post game activities. Covered parking and convenient to room (cost $12/night). Very clean lobby and room and tastefully decorated with university and dowtown Madisom theme. Breakfast was just right with plenty of options to start the day. Very helpful and friendly staff...will definitely be back for a stay in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimmys57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear zimmys57,

Thank you for the kind words. We agree, ours is a great location. We are lucky to have snagged this lot downtown, so close to everything! I am glad the covered parking was convenient for you, it's been such an asset.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Feel the Hamptonality!
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Everything from the staff, to the room, to the complimentary breakfast was fabulous! This hotel is located within walking distance of several restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. If you like country music & great food, we suggest Red Rock Saloon, which is right up the street!! Traffic was somewhat crazy in the area, so it was nice to just park in the hotel's ramp and walk! Anytime we are in Madison, we will not be staying anywhere, but here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Chrissey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Chrissey S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We love our location as well, right in the heart of the city. I am glad you enjoyed our parking structure, it makes all the difference to have parking onsite.

Thank you again for the kind words. We cannot wait to have you back at the hotel!

Feel the Hamptonality!
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Check in was efficient and non - eventful as expected. You use your room key to access the parking garage. Upon driving into the elevated lot the first time and navigating among several other cars it was confusing without directional signs or a map at the entrance. At the first Tee, I chose to go to the right...and got a short, dead-end. It was difficult to back out with other confused drivers in tight quarters. Later, I observed others getting into the same dead-end (requires backing out). The garage circles to the left and all areas have good access to the hotel.
Stay was generally good. Had to call the front desk at 3:30 am to get a room above us to scale back the party noise on a weekend stay. It got better so all in all a well designed, nicely appointed property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007TravelDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 007TravelDog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear bout the confusion with the parking garage, it is definitely tricky if you have never been to the hotel before. The good news is that we have new directional signage planned. We just need to wait for Spring to do the painting. I am also sorry to hear about the noise that woke you, but I am glad it was fixed right away. We have invested in staffing to respond quickly to noise concerns.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to having you back to the hotel soon!

Feel the Hamptonality!
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I visit Madison often, and I always thought that while there are decent options downtown, there are really no great values there. During my last visit in February I stayed at Hampton Inn downtown, because my usual choice was booked full. What a pleasant surprise! Large modern suites with great views, if you book a high floor. Very clean and comfortable rooms, simple but good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, convenient, easy parking, all at a very good price. This hotel is an excellent value, and beats its more upscale neighbors for quality as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlafBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear OlafBig,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you stayed with us! Thank you for all the wonderful compliments. I am pleased you were happy and comfortable in your room and the hotel. Our staff works very hard to take care of everybody. I am also glad you found our parking structure easy and convenient. The covered, secured structure has been such an asset.
Thank you again for the nice words and compliments. We look forward to having you back soon!
Feel the Hamptonality!
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews