We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Brocach Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #268 of 995 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The best corned beef I've had in a long time. Our server was attentive without hovering, and was extremely knowledgeable when asked to make recommendations. We (four of us) were seated at a table at one of the windows. We had to slide the table out to one side for two of us to sit, then pull the table in to seat the other two. Our server had to reach behind a person at the table closest to us to pass our orders to us, it's a tight fit when it's crowded. Still, it was comfortable, and the food was delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventureous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, WI
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We ate here before the Concert on the Square so there were a lot of people to contend with. Brocach handled the crowd and still served great food. Our granddaughter's fiancé was delighted to find the Irish beer he had been looking for and my husband ordered the same.
Our meals of two orders of fish and chips and two orders of corned beef and cabbage pleased each of us. After we finished our meal we didn't want to stay at the table since they had people waiting so they accommodated us with a table in the bar. Friendly and prompt were the key words for service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maybepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pub atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've been here twice. My college student daughter loves the place. The food is fine but varies depending on what you get. My last visit I had the fish sandwich and it was just fair. A little bit of fish and a lot of bread. Good selection of beers, and the Irish food (e.g., bangers and mash; Irish stew; corned beef) is very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaroldsMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is good, the service is good, and the portions are generous enough to make another meal out of or to share. It's an easy walk from anywhere near the Capitol and worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLyndaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
“GREAT!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, fun, great service and the best garlic parmesian fries EVER! Had a wonderful time. Even closed out the bar one night!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brocach Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing