We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch experience”
Review of CIRC

CIRC
Ranked #119 of 989 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At CIRC we are dedicated to providing you first-class service in our contemporary and relaxing dining area. Our menu features dishes that exemplify the cuisine of Wisconsin with the flavors of America. Chef Charles Lazzareschi and his team pride themselves in using fresh, seasonal ingredients, which come together to create unique and flavorful pairings you are sure to love.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great brunch experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was there for a weekend brunch. The buffet had variety and delicious choices. The service was also great. They would refresh my coffee mug quite frequently.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We dine here each year, and are always disappointed that more people don't know how good this restaurant is. There have rarely been more than 10 people there at dinner, although it is busy at lunch. The food is excellent and not over-priced. I started with the creamy carrot apple soup, which was delicious, flavored with coconut and ginger. My husband had the seared ahi appetizer, which was fresh and accompanied with slaw, cucumber, and wonton, a lovely combination. The piece de resistance was my main dish, egg pappardelle, one of the best pasta dishes I've ever had. It had a mushroom ragout, Italian sausage, and mushroom cream. Magnificent! I couldn't finish it, so my husband took a few bites, and said he wants to come back so he can order that. What a treat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank elswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superior food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The chef creates food from Wisconsin ingredients that rival any expensive restaurant in Madison -- without a hefty bill. I had choices that were all so interesting it was hard to pick. I had impeccable service from the staff. Just because this restaurant is in a hotel so not pass it by. It is well worth a meal to see what the chef has cooked up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good. But dinner really disappointing”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I liked the ambiance and presentation of the food. But our fish dishes were mediocre. bland flavored. When you vow to each other that you will never come here for dinner again (we return every October to the hotel) that is not a good sign. I still gave a very good rating because of the good breakfast. Many choices, fast service and good breakfast food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyahd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We made reservation for six people for the 6 pm dinner hour. We had an idea of what to expect when we walked into the restaurant and we were the only ones there. However, we had another event to attend in the hotel and didn't want to leave.

Pro's:
The waiter was readily available for us, even if he didn't smile
The food has a great presentation
The restaurant was quiet
We were seated immediately
The apricot chutney was great
Seafood medley, porkchop, and crab cakes were great!


Con's:
Scallops were gritty
Cannellini beans were undercooked and hard
The short ribs were tough--like very, very tough
Squid ink pasta??? really?
For an organic food restaurant, I was expecting a full serving of vegetable with my entrée -- I received less than 1/2 a serving, and way too many undercooked beans!

All in all, our group left hungry and unsatisfied. The food was not at all what I was expecting after reading so many other great reviews. Should you really leave hungry after ordering an appetizer, side salad, and an entrée??? Too bad, this restaurant has a lot of potential.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinCheeshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CIRC also viewed

 

Been to CIRC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing