We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ice cream, happy spot”

Michael's Frozen Custard
Ranked #23 of 28 Dessert in Madison
Restaurant details
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream, happy spot”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place has really good ice cream and the atmosphere of a wholesome, happy retro spot where you could go get ice cream on a family outing or a date with your sweetheart. They have non-sweet foods also, but I have no firsthand knowledge. The counter help is friendly and helpful. An upbeat and relaxing spot!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3300Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“solid frozen custard - not cheap!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've had better frozen custard in Illinois (Ollies in Sycamore) and Culver's is an accessible, quality product too. Michael's is solid, not exceptional.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadCityHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best custard”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just a plain chocolate or vanilla cone, simply the best custard I can get! Culvers is not even close for me. I enjoy it so much I don't want any toppings or anything with it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheesehead571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
“so-so custard, tired staff.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Go to Culver's for custard instead. We went to the Micheal's off the beltline by Todd Drive. Somehow, custard for me, my partner and our 2 kids was over $20.00. The server looked like she was about to fall asleep. I wish we would've gone a bit up the road to Culvers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollybreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A truly american place to enjoy”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A really good place to enjoy an old fashioned hot dog. Great ice creams! Don't miss the K9 ice cream for your dog!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Herfrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing