We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quick Breakfast & Lunch Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marigold Kitchen

Marigold Kitchen
118 S Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-3318
608-661-5559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 929 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Quick Breakfast & Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Duck Confit Hash is special. So are the salads and chicken salad sandwich. I wouldn't recommend the Lemon Tortilla Soup. It sounded unusual when I ordered it, and it lived up to those "unusual" expectations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    85
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Can be a little on the pricey side but worth it. I had been there before and my husband hadn’t and it can be a little overwhelming when you first enter. There are specials on the board but finding menus, especially when it’s crowded can be difficult if you don’t know where to look. The staff could be a little more helpful in that area. That said, I love the bacon, egg and cheese breakfast sandwich. It is the best. Also recently tried the chile poached eggs and now I will have to alternate between the two. Oh, and they have orange marmalade, which always is a plus in my book. Really appreciate the fresh take on breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SwissMiss94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Healthy and SCRUMPTIOUS, food. I have eaten here for years and I have never had anything less than fantastic food here. Get here early or outside of peak breakfast and lunch hours because it's usually very busy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Busy and noisy, but for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great breakfast and lunch place,but small and noisy. Try to avoid during summer Saturddays when locals visit the farmer's market on the capital square. Waitstaff is excellent and the kitchen will prepare things to order, like egg white omelettes. Wonderful baked goods and specialty coffees.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Yes, it cost me $14 for breakfast, but it is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. I got an omelette and a side of yogurt. The table had jam in a jar, spread into the bowl of yogurt - fantastic. The omelette was delicious. If I had known about this place earlier, I would have had breakfast there every morning. Only downside: the place is busy (probably because it is so damn good), so a bit of a lineup and wait for a free table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marigold Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Marigold Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing