We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a breakfast!!!”
Review of Marigold Kitchen

Marigold Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 989 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a breakfast!!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When you get to the point of wondering how someone can possibly do a better breakfast you have to go to Marigold. Tucked away just off the square Marigold is an incredible food experience. I tried the pumpkin spice pancakes and OMG were they good. Atmosphere is neat and the service is good. When it's your first time ask for the process of ordering and getting seated as its a bit different than normal. Once you got it Everything's good.

Enjoy it

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClemWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    96
    25
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
785 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A rare breakfast place in downtown Madison”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There are plenty of bars and restaurants near the Square and on State St. in Madison but almost no breakfast places. Every time we have been in town for a football game and staying downtown this has been my complaint (I don't want to eat the overpriced hotel breakfast). Finally someone told me about Marigold's. Great food, a good price and a nice atmosphere. It was a Sunday so it was not too crowded but I can guess that this place is a zoo on Saturday's with the Farmer's market. The order your food and then find a seat process worked well on this day. My breakfast sandwich was very tasty as was my friend's french toast (it looked awesome). I highly recommend Marigolds.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A melting pot of clientele demonstrates its broad allure.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Kitchen was packed on a Thursday morning when we spouses of wives in Madison on business met for breakfast. There are 'Marigolds' in every mid-to-large city - a little hip but still casual and friendly. There were all ages, students, professionals, people in flannel and tailored wool, and likely a broad range of lifestyles. Anyone should be comfortable at the Marigold.

At 8 AM on a weekday, it might be a waiting line at arrival, but the turnover seems good. There is free Wi-Fi, so a few tables were "stuck." Our meals were well-priced and not just the normal diner fare. Service is: menu at the table, specials on the blackboard, and pay as you order at the counter. Coffee is self-serve and unlimited. There is a condiment hutch at the coffee / water desk to spice up your food or flavor your coffee.

Food was prepared quickly and served very hot. My request for more syrup at the cooking station was met with an immediate hand-off of another hot mini-cup of syrup. A colleague mis-read a menu item and didn't catch that his diced potato side did include meat. His whole food breakfast plate was immediately replaced. That's good service!

The restaurant is an easy walk fromthe Capital, city hall, many offices, and our hotel adjacent to the Convention Center.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spyder3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast is very good, needs a couple tweaks”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I eat breakfast there almost every Saturday morning and really like the restaurant. However, there are a couple of things that we feel would improve the customer's experience:
1. The music is way too loud for early in the morning. We are not fuddy duddy's but during an early breakfast would prefer to enjoy our coffee, great breakfast, and conversation in a more hospitable environment.
2. Some of the food, such as the french toast, is not very hot when delivered - maybe it's precooked? The plates are not warmed nor is the syrup. Little things but add up to serving hot food hot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WIFITCHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fresh prepared, good baked goods, inventive egg dishes”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The best scones (next to the ones from Lazy Jane's) we've ever had. Duck Confit hash was my favorite. Coffee was above usual restaurant-diner fare. Gets crowded, fairly small sitting area..worth the wait out in the street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marigold Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Marigold Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing