We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only eat the Gyros”

Parthenon Gyros Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 990 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We were the first gyros restaurant in Wisconsin in 1972 and we've been making our gyros and sauce by hand since then. We believe simple, high quality ingredients make the best food and that's why our gyros (made only from ground lamb, beef and spices) and our tzatziki/gyro sauce (which starts as milk, then we make Greek yogurt, then add cucumber, garlic, lemon) are the best in the country.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only eat the Gyros”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Their Gyros are the only thing worth eating. The rest of their food seems to be an after-thought.

Great for after bar.

Go with a group.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you like gyros sandwiches, this is the place”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Parthenon was one of my favorite restaurants when I did postdoctoral work in Madison 35 years ago. This past month I had the opportunity to visit this restaurant again. It is even better than I remember. If you like gyros sandwiches or plates, you must try this place. On my last trip I visited three times during three days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like I like it”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Can't beat a gyro sandwich from the Parthenon. Flavorful, made to order, and fast. The sandwich alone is a meal but add fries because they make them fresh. It's a greasy spoon kind of place but in a good way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMae48201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillips, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It ain't what it used to be!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here with visions of having a Gyro as good as years past. That's not going to happen. The meat was way over salted and overdone. The tzatziki sauce was flavorless. Never going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank RoadyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best gyros in town”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I don't make it downtown very often, but when I'm there, odds are good that I'll be stopping at the Parthenon. Easily the best gyros in town - and I couldn't believe how much my husband managed to pack away on our visit yesterday, it was that good.

The dining area has been updated over the last few years - not a huge change, but it's pleasant. I'm also a fan of the Greek music videos that play all day, though I realize that's probably not everyone's cup of tea.

Only bummer is that I wish it were a tad cheaper; we managed to spend $25 on lunch for the two of us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parthenon Gyros Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parthenon Gyros Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing