We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town restaurant in a big town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feiler's - CLOSED

Feiler's
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
346 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Small town restaurant in a big town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This restaurant has been around for ages. Great comfort food, good drinks and wonderful, friendly staff. On Friday nights you can get their fish fry. Not an all you can eat one, but the piece of fish you get (either fried or broiled) is a large piece. The twice baked potatoes are good, and you also get a side salad and rolls and a several pieces of garlic toast. I always have to order the clam chowder as it is delicious. There are specials on other nights so make sure you try them all out. Prices are very reasonable. The atmosphere is nothing to write home about, two rooms divided by a half wall, and tables, but it's a friendly place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RetirementTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beauty is more than skin deep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Mom always told me to not judge a book by it's cover. This is a perfect example of mom's wisdom. This was our first time at Feiler's. I honestly had to pause for a moment when we arrived. On the outside, it looks like one of those seedy side-of-the-road taverns that you probably wouldn't stop at on a whim. You could also describe it as resembling a dilapidated double wide that somebody left in a commercial area. When you walk in, though, you are greeted by friendly staff and a wood paneled, dark, windowless, red carpeted interior with candles on the tables, clean glassware hanging from the bar ceiling, tiny basic salad bar with yummy homemade croutons and a big shaker bottle filled with real bacon bits. Friendly chatter at the bar, paper placemats on the tables and general tidiness everywhere ... the list of neat touches and relics from the past goes on and on. We tried the fish and the smoked pork chops and we were not disappointed. Good portions, good value. We were told this restaurant has been in the family since it opened 3 generations ago. We loved the whole experience and we'll be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“1966 still exists Good fish fry, stiff drink, paneled walls, no windows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

What more do you want from a classic Friday night Wisconsin Friday fish fry?
Stepping back in time where th barkeep knows us all but welcomes newbies, and has a joke for you. Where the host sucks into his oxygen tube to give you a more hearty welcome . Where the waitress scurries around to serve your salad chilled and fish hot.
Where tap beer doesn't break the bank.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillybobMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
157 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A classic dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Not sure what the prior reviewer was expecting...but we had a fabulous fish fry dinner. The service was excellent and we got good value for our money. Don't be scared away by the looks from the outside - this is NOT a fancy restaurant - just terrific food!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Second_City_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

I really wanted to love this place - vintage supper club atmosphere. But my fish fry just wasn't very memorable.

Helpful?
1 Thank DawnMR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feiler's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing