We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first experience with Afghan food!”

Kabul Afghanistan Restaurant
Ranked #111 of 980 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Mediterranean, Afghani
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“first experience with Afghan food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I usually research for restaurants(on tripadvisor) In our trip to Madison i wanted to surprise my wife with something new, she loves Pakistani, Indian and all Mediterranean and middle eastern food.

I found this place in downtown Madison and decided to try Afghan food, well we asked the server for a good traditional dish and it happened to come with soup; the drinks came; Tea and beer, the tee was great, the beer was just Miller since they didn't have the Turkish beer in stock
food; the soup was amazing! made with lentils, garbanzos, beans, chicken, lamb and beef... a plate of hummus and a basket of pita bread (for free) then main dish which was chicken over saffron rice covered with carrots and raisins with a little touch of curry and cumin that even that i don't like it I think it was perfectly balanced not overpowering the meal...
we have great service and supper cheap price( i can't mention the price but we tip the server 50%) I will totally go back there next time I visit Madison...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FERNANDO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
236 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Meh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went here expecting something special. The bread was stale and the olive oil was rancid. Our food was bland and we didn't finish it. All in all a disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calicoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
417 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Worthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Kabul merits your visit. Savory flavors, well prepared. Our choices on this visit included Lamb Kabobs with peppers, onions, tomatoes accompanied by saffron rice and preceded with a delightful salad. Our other option was tilapia (fresh and tasty) with lemon butter, artichokes and mushrooms. Great value. Great ethnic cuisine.w

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average in a city of great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We sat outside, people watching on State St., which was great. It was incredibly hot inside the restaurant. However, the table was quick rickety and unstable. We ordered hummus as an appetizer, which isn't on the menu. The waiter was glad to provide it as an appetizer. It was the best part of the meal. The flatbread was just ok, not chewy and delicious as we expected. The chicken curry was the best of the items we ordered. The chicken couscous was ok, as was the lemon chicken. The chicken is not boneless. All three dishes came with two bone in chicken thighs. The meat was tender and juicy, but we didn't expect the bone in thighs. The vegetables were a little sparse. I will try something else next time rather than returning to Kabul.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

from the salad to the bread to the kabab - great flavours for a very reasonable price. Lunch on the patio was a treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirlaroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabul Afghanistan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kabul Afghanistan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing