We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely outstanding pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paisan's

Paisan's
Ranked #35 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I started going to Paisan's in about 1970, when it was in the basement of another restaurant, in a building a couple blocks from where Paisan's is today. I remember walking down the spiral staircase into the basement, and all the old, tattered travel posters that were stuck to the walls around the staircase. I remember the high-back benches and the dark, rather black basement, with the single spot light shining down from the ceiling onto your table.

The pizza was just as wonderful back then as it is today. I've lived in about a dozen different states from Alaska to Florida. I've had pizza in probably one or two hundred different restaurants. And I've never had a pizza that "called me back" like the peperoni pizza at Paisan's (I always ask them to "hold the onions). It is, quite simply, the best pizza I've ever had.

I cannot recommend Paisan's more highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    74
    45
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is nice, service was good, but we were disappointed in the pizza. It wasn't terrible by any means but definitely left something to be desired. We ordered a deluxe pizza and a vegetarian pesto. The sausage on the deluxe was fantastic, a little kick to it, very good. The pesto on the veggie was also great. The one thing that really killed it on both of the pizzas for us was the cheese, big lack of flavor, made the pizzas a bit bland. Personally I would use roma or Sun dried tomatoes with pesto and feta cheese and maybe even some pine nuts. I felt like the only thing between the veggie pesto and a regular cheese and tomato pizza was changing marinara for pesto, it didn't really click for me. The salads were good and the sangria wasn't bad either. Overall, not too bad but if you're really in the mood for good pizza I'd look elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank nomad3817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“The worst italian food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Chiken alfredo was horrible. The pasta overcooked, the salsa directly from the can, no flavor. I asked for spices, but it was impossible to improve the food.
The ravioles were horrible too. We were 4 people and any of the dishes were acceptables. We could not finish the food, not even half of the plate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardozolili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great pizza!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent pizza!! If the weather is cooperative, grab a seat outside so you can watch the world, well the traffic, go by and see the lakes and the boats. Very relaxing. Very good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Voice1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison,wi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A classic that lives on, with a view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place is old school delicious Italian food. The pizza is perfect, the Girabaldi sandwich is my fav from 1967. The ambiance is A+ with great seasonal outdoor seating. Beer and wine and cocktails are al above average.
It's perfect for parties, couples, or families. Seating areas with different ambiance.
Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank muthabeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paisan's also viewed

 
 

Been to Paisan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing