We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Takara Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #542 of 997 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a disappointing lunch today at Takara. This is a place we used to frequent 1-2 times a month for years. My husband and I both got the sashimi lunch and there were three problems:

1. Fish was on top of the lemon, perhaps to mask off-flavor. Sashimi should never be served on top of citrus.

2. The waitor/waitress didn't come back to ask how our meal was before bringing the check.

3. A waitress stacked our dirty dishes on our table in front of us and then left. Unacceptable.

Their State Street location used to win "Best of Madison" awards, but no more. Sad, especially given the competition from nearby Japanese restaurants. We won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zakrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delightful dishes and great prices.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I took my nieces ( age 12 and 10) to the west side location. It was a Friday night, yet the wait was less than 10 minutes. The sushi menu looked very nice with a good selection, however, since I was with non sushi eaters, I decided on the Beef teriyaki Bento box, another got the Hibachi chicken and another Beef Negimaki Bento box. I must say it was the BEST Bento box I have ever had...and I have had my share. I got the sashimi instead of california rolls or Nigiri and it was succulent, with salmon, tuna, crab and surf clam. That selection alone was worth 1/2 of my Bento box. Then in addition you get the entree ( all were excellent), little dumplings , and a huge portion of shrimp tempura. The beef was good quality and very tender in both the Teriyaki and the Negimaki. I don't live in Madison, and there are so many excellent places to eat there, but I can't wait to go back to Takara and take my nieces for another dinner :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelin'gal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I love this place.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've had lunch and dinner at both locations and enjoyed every bite! Bento boxes are terrific; teriyaki beef and shrimp, and anything hibachi is fantastic. Plus Asahi "Super Dry" is on hand. Do you want to get away from those s students? Then go to the Whitney Way location. Good food and very nice people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Only one server for the whole resturant”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Food was excellent and the service was courteous. However, there was only one waiter for the lunch rush. It took a while to order, get more water, and get our check... he was running around doing everything - you could tell he was very busy... They need to hired another one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank w1drwomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reliable sushi”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a snowy night and enjoyed basics and adventure rolls. Takara never really kills it like exotic West Coast joints, but also never disappoints. Fish is fresh of served a wee bit cold, bar can make a solid mixed drink, and wait staff is experienced. All in all a solid experience for beginner or aficionado.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing