We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Jamaica, Mon!”

Jamerica Restaurant
Ranked #241 of 990 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Jamaican
Restaurant details
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Jamaica, Mon!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A little hole-in-the-wall Jamaican restaurant on Madison's famous Willy Street, itself an experience.

I've been to Jamaica, and love the people and their cuisine, and this place is as good as it gets here in Wisconsin - the food is every bit as good, but I'd like to see more Jamaicans out on the street drinking beer and laughing in 80 degree temperature. Ha!

Martin remembers my daughter and me when we sit down, and it is truly a cool friendly dining experience. You pick your own beer from the many kinds in the cooler.

The other place down the street is a lot pricier, and not nearly as genuine.

I'd rate the food as good as roadside stands in Jamaica - it don't get no betta than that, mon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with great Jamaican Food!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Ox Tail, Goat, Run Down Salmon and Shrimp. The owner Martin always has a smile and the food is terrific. Jerk Chicken and Pork are also very, very good and the decor is that no tables match, no two glasses are the same and this place is truly a classic on Madison's East Side on Willy Street right across from the Willy Street Coop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockydogz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, WI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love this funky place!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's the Bahamas in the North--great (GREAT!) jambalaya and the jerk chicken is as good as on the island. We use it for take out too and have never been disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Northpith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great Jamaican Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is one of those unique off the wall places with plastic tables, mismatched chairs, an assortment of glasses and plates and great food. Is it a hole in the wall? Yes it is and the owner and chef Martin always has a smile on his face. Salmon rundown is my favorite and my wife loves the goat when they have it. This is one of those places if you are going for ambiance, stay away, put if you want authentic Jamaican food, get ready for a treat!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockydogz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cant wait!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

everytime im in Mad Town I try to go to this place!!....yes like the other comments said, its nothing fancy, and im glad!!... feels like your really in Jam!! food is great, bringing my wifey there tomorrow for the first time, stoked!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood10909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamerica Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jamerica Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing