We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistenty good, with gluten free options”
Review of Mariner's Inn

Mariner's Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Mariner's Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 989 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Westport Road
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistenty good, with gluten free options”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent, good quality food, and very amenable to helping with gluten free options.
Service top notch. The Van Ruetenburg family makes you feel just as welcome as their parents did 30 years ago. There is outside seating for seasonal weather, and a fireplace inside for a cold wintry night. They also have early bird specials. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitty1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A never fail best of of the best...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great steaks or fresh seafood, fantastic Hashbrowns, (the best). This establishment on a cove off of Lake Mendota is delightful summer or winter,. Summer is truly a delight that must be expierenced to appreciate. Cocktails on the lawn or on the upper deck outside is a great way to start a fine dining expierence. I love boats, and the Mariners is surrounded by marinas. You can drive or boat up. It is too amazing to explain, and I don't have enough space. Go. Enjoy. Know you will come back again!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muskie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Mariner 's during restaurant week!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It's summer restaurant week here in Madison, WI. For $25, we had a 3-course meal. I chose the famous clam chowder for my 1st course, surf & turf as main
course, key lime pie for 3rd course. The lobster was wonderful, melted in my mouth. I had a 6-oz steak and took half of it home with me.
Not a fancy place but good food.
Worth a visit, family friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice views poor food”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

As someone who travels for work around the country and eats out over 150 nights a year the food here was very poor. The clam chowder was some institutional brand and the Ribeye was even worse. I had a better meal at Texas Roadhouse earlier this week for a third of the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodislife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a good old fashioned WI supper club on a lake. The view is pretty, the food outstanding and the service like at home. We really enjoyed our steaks and the clam chowder is super! We were there in April, so it was not busy, but expect it is a hopping place in the summer. We will go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoRockets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariner's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing