We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Late night fine dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tornado Steak House

Tornado Steak House
Ranked #6 of 956 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late night fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you want a good meal after a Badger game, the Tornado is the spot. Pork with cherry sauce is awesome as is the steak, and it really takes you back in time....i'd imagine it's like an old Rat Pack Vegas Supper Club.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jennydpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    120
    41
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try Corral Room after 10:00 PM, make sure to have the steak fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Following the pride block party this year, we decided to try the Corral Room beneath the Tornado Room, offering slightly a less formal menu and a decided trip back in time...I'm thinking 1950's Vegas, though obviously I wasn't around then. You have to wait until 10:00 PM for them to open, which is now late night for us. Sooo....

The partner has been drinking Old Fashioned’s lately, and he did not enjoy the Corral Room version...I think it had something to do with being made with cognac instead of brandy. Tasted like turpentine to me, but I don't like Old Fashioned. Everyone else in the place seemed to like them though, I should note. I had a Cucumber/mint infused cocktail which was fine. I don't know that I'd order it again.

For eats, we ordered the blue cheeseburger, which was sublime, and the steak sandwich was a perfect representation of their reputation for beef. We ordered both steak fries and onion rings, which came with an assortment of sauces (as they should...am I at home or what?), each better than the last. Obviously, there was enough to feed a family of 4 in sides.

The service was very sketchy. We got cocktails almost immediately, along with the food menu. Then it was about 15 minutes before we were able to order food, and the poor waitress obviously had to go upstairs (to the kitchen) to place and pick up orders. Probably not the most thought out system. If I were upstairs paying actual Tornado Room prices I would have been irritated regarding the delays, but instead, we chose to be amused. I mean really, for the quality you're getting, a little iffy service isn't too much to put with. She was very sweet when she was around.

All in all, I'd say great value, and without doubt, the best steak fries in the world. There was a fairly significant number of intoxicated people there, some of which I believe had some sort of party going earlier. I saw balloons, so I guess people do such things still. The party seemed to have broken down into groups of two or 3 people arguing at various decibels, so the noise level would be annoying if you were looking for something quiet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fussytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Amazing Steaks in Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Some of the best steak I've ever had in my life. Topped with a golden,crispy onion ring, the steaks have a tasty coating of seasoning that crisps on the outside but always perfectly cooked as ordered on the inside. The wedge salad is out of this world with huge blue cheese crumbles. Hash browns are a must-do, for the healthier option get the asparagus which is also deelish.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gbunny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Enjoyed a delicious filet mignon cooked to perfection! Friendly and helpful service; western ambiance.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimball4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad appetizers, ok steak.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The service was terrible. The appetizers(escargo) were not good. The bread was hard. Drinks and food took forever to arrive. Steak was decent but it took almost 2 hours to get. Not worth the price.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atxroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tornado Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Tornado Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing