We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prime Quarter Steak House - CLOSED

Prime Quarter Steak House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Some may say it's pricey. But what place isn't? It's a fun place to grill your own We come on our birthdays where can u go for a free steak dinner what better gift then steak??? So all you winers put your big boy pants on and suck it up!!!!! If you don't like it don't go!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wesnshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“One of the best steakhouse in America!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Dined in this steakhouse with co-workers during business trip back in April 2012 from Toronto Canada. Best steak can one have for the price. You can grill your own steak in the indoor fire grill. Even better is the delicious smell from the grill. If you're not up to the work. You can have the chef grill your steak for you. But why not join the fun of grilling. It adds to the anticipation of eating a juicy steak. The side dishes are out in the open similar to a buffet table. The menu price is not too bad. One can enjoy a meal with drinks within $30. However, the atmosphere can be quiet. Could be due to the fine dining like design of the restaurant. I would prefer it to be more casual. Toronto needs a restaurant like this! Will go back again when in Madison.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_Cruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, atmosphere, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

PQs location is a short drive west of "restaurant row" on East Washington Street in Madison. There is a pleasant reward waiting for you once inside this long-established steak house. The waiting hostess greets you and takes you to your table. The young woman serving us answered a phone call before she began to seat us and put the caller on hold for another staffer to serve, then proceeded to expertly guide us to the perfect table. Priorities are a good thing :-) We were celebrating our 36th anniversary, wanted a quiet (as much as possible) atmosphere with good food, and remembered PQ from years ago when we went there with friends and grilled our own mammoth steaks which we amazingly didn't ruin. We'd moved away and then returned to the area and absolutely nothing's changed...the enormous t-bones were delicious (grilled by the attending chef since we are a bit more, um, mature as well as lazy this time around), music was low-key and agreeable, the waitress professional and non-intrusive. Menu? Basic...choose your steak from a short list of memorable cuts for one price. Salad bar. Baked potato. Did I mention the steaks were enormous? And, they grill true...I ordered mine medium and it was done perfectly. In a nutshell: very good steak, pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, good service, reasonable price, easy access away from crowded mall area restaurants. Finally...ladies, you WILL have a doggie bag for your midnight snacking pleasure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New favorite place of mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stopped here on the advice of a co worker while in town and just loved it. 21.95 for a 20oz rib eye, I couldnt believe it. I was in town again for work, this time by myself and had to stop again. It's a nice place to go alone as well as there was good company around the grill. Josh was my server both times and he was right on it keeping drinks filled. Nice thing is that if the steak isn't done properly you have no one to blame but yourself but can go right back to the grill and cook it some more. I have enjoyed it both times, think its a great value and the steaks are great as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hexx17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cashton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“holy cow!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is definitely a guy place. G-r-r-rill your own steak on one of the 3 massive stone grills, huge chunks of meat in the cooler to choose from. Price was reasonable, I believe it was around $20 for a huge Ribeye. I heard you can even get a Beefeater that looked to be the size of a cow's backside. We were there for a romantic evening. There was more romance between him and grilling the giant steak, but he had a great time so that was fun to watch. I would have preferred a little more atmosphere, and a little less charcoal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twirly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Quarter Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing