We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Etoile Restaurant

L'Etoile Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Etoile Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 930 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Washington
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“French.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a French restaurant that is really great and worth the high prices you will pay for dinner here.

Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    40
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious creative food. Mmmmmm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked a day ahead, but how many other restaurants use the information gathered to personalize the menu. This first thoughtful touch was the beginning of one of the most delicious meals I have tasted. THe food was fresh and the promotion of locally sourced ingredients was lovely. We enjoyed looking at the list of farms and suppliers on the back of the menu as well as the map that we spotted when we left showing the location of the restaurant's suppliers located throughout Wisconsin.
The delicate yet interesting mix of flavours was spectacular and each course was a treat.
The service was attentive. This

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l1nda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal since Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Since my brother and his wife are celebrating their 40th anniversary just after Christmas he decided that we should all help them celebrate at this restaurant. Because he and I visited the Domaine Rouge-Bleu vineyard in Provence last summer this had special significance for us. Rouge-Bleu wines are the product of the winemaking skills of Jean Marc Espinasse whose wife Kristin has the blog French-Word-A-Day. All excellent. We like the Mistral and the Dentelle. There is also a rose which is very good in the summer.

The food here was absolutely top notch and memorable. Service was very attentive and included some special touches to mark the anniversary we were celebrating - a surprise gift of a glass of champagne for everyone at the table started the festivities with a toast before we ordered. The menus were prepared with a notation at the top congratulating the couple on their anniversary--a very nice touch. The steak was very memorable and even the vegetarian item on the menu was incredible.

This restaurant is right downtown in Madison directly across the street from the Wisconsin State Capitol. All lighted on a cold, snowy December night it was a beatiful view. I did not have an opportunity to visit the previous location which was much more cozy and traditional, but surprisingly, this traditionalist was very comfortable in the new soaring glass and steel space. Despite the openess of the space conversation was intimate and we did not experience the uncomfortable echo that is often found in such an large open space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoingToAll1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our experience was wonderful, the food was nice to try at least once. Our first courses consisted of a pork belly dish as well as a duck confit dish. Both were flavorful and well prepared. Our entree was the grass fed steak. It was good- but all of the accompaniments were a bit overwhelming. We were so full after dinner that we didn't try a dessert- but they gave us a complimentary plate of peppermint meringue and caramel popcorn. It was delicious! the service and staff were all awesome--- when my husband mentioned how much he liked the popcorn, they even gave him some to go!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Living on Past Reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Once considered the best restaurant in Madison, this place is not living up to its past reputation. Service is indifferent, food quality average and way overpriced. The location has moved from the one pictured in this page to a modern bank building environment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank UIAlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing