We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and great drinks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co.

The Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co.
Ranked #7 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I ate here recently. I loved the many menu options. I had the chicken pot pie. You can't order that in many restaurants. It was amazing. My husband had a chicken sandwhich that he loved. This is a brewery. I wasn't in the mood for beer so I ordered something fruity. I love that they add their beer to the fruity cocktails. It takes the sweet edge off and they taste wonderful. My only issue was service. The night we went there was a lot of young girls working. The hostess that sat us was rude and our waitress was not friendly. She couldn't answer menu questions and was generally disconnected and spacey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenK424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    339
    119
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great experience, fab beer and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really enjoyable with excellent food and beers and very good service. Simple but really good and incredibly affordable, a must to try the brews!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dabhand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Neat place... Spacious! Had a couple Octoberfest brews, sandwich, salad & appetizer. All good. Our server was a doll and it was gorgeous day to sit out in the garden area. We stopped for lunch but I bet this is the place to be on a weekend night! Would stop again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach-Cowgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dane pre and post race beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Several different levels to go to to eat and drink. Many different types of beer and easy to get to at different times. My only complaint that it was very loud to try and carry on any type of conversation. We go twice though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murphdog97225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic, beer was average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved my food. Usually with a brew pub you end up with great beer and bad food or vice versa. The food was excellent for a brew pub - fantastic salad and sandwiches, but the beers only tasted average. Maybe I tried the wrong ones (German Pils and the IPA), but I'll be coming back for the food next time in Madison, not as much the brews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLEShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to The Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing