We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nitty Gritty

Nitty Gritty
Ranked #53 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have eaten here several times, every time sucks, the food is was to expensive, they can never get an order correct, the customer service was terrible, I will go elsewhere, My advice GO ELSEWHERE!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rckdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    64
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have been hearing about the Nitty Gritty for years. Finally stopped in for lunch over Memorial Day weekend. We did not know that this was "the birthday bar".....and as we walked in they asked if anyone was celebrating a birthday....my husband was. So while the rest of our group was seated, he was sent to the bar to get his Free Birthday Mug, drink, and name added to the Birthday Board. Kind of a fun marketing schtick that seems to work for them. Basic Burger and sandwich menu.....burgers were really good. So many places to explore in Madison, not sure we will go back soon, but would not hesitate in heading back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alcoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Burgers and Milkshakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want great American burgers and food, come here. They have unique burgers, and I haven't had a bad one yet. They also have ridiculously good shakes and some even have a splash of booze for those of age! Speaking of, you get to drink for free on your birthday!!! All of that combine to make it the best place to celebrate your birthday in Madison!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All around great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mom and 2 teens stopped for supper while attending orientation functions at UW Madison. Parking was convenient and across the street for one dollar per hour. The place was busy (good sign) and we were seated immediately. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The food was very good: strawberry pistachio salad with raspberry vinaigrette, cheese curds (white curds were better than the yellow), chicken strips with pub chips, chicken wrap, 3 drinks. Fifty bucks plus tip. It felt like we got our money's worth. Loved the casual, sports bar feel. Come as you are. Tip: IF it's your birthday and can prove it, your drinks are free all night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GBpedsRN4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best place to celebrate yur' B'Day in Madison!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you don't like noise and commotion this isn't the place for you. This is Madison's birthday place and I've celebrated here many a time. The Nitty Gritty Burger is the "BEST"!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitty Gritty also viewed

 

Been to Nitty Gritty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing