We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky's Club

Smoky's Club
Ranked #245 of 931 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Middleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I ate at Smoky's probably 15 years ago because it was supposed to be the place to go. We were disappointed then and even more now. Maybe I have been watching too many food network shows, but wow does this place need an update. The best thing about our experience this time is that we had a $20 coupon. They start you out with a relish of carrots, celery and radishes. Then came bread which was warm but dried out. We received our salads which were okay but limited dressing choices. The soup course was either potato soup or tomato juice. I ordered a 5 oz filet medium rare and 2 shrimp. My first steak was tasty but cooked more medium than medium rare. The plate was so hot that the steak kept cooking and by the time I ate my third bite the rest of the steak was well done. My server was attentive and happily replaced my steak with a new one. This one was bigger and cooked more medium rare but again the plate was so hot that by the time I cut it in half to see if it was cook properly I soon had a well done steak. The shrimp was inedible. Way overdone and not seasoned. My husband had the pork chops and they were just okay. I feel that when my bill is over $70 (we both had one glass of wine) that I shouldn't have to eat on a plastic table cloth with paper napkins. The shrimp sauce was served in a paper cup. Three servers were sitting at a table in the dining area of the bar. We had good intentions to give Smoky's another try after our first lack luster experience, but wish that we would have listened to our instincts and picked a different restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    22
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

that is what one comes here for and it is what you get - no high end Peter Lugar act-alike but the place your parents took you 50 years ago for a big night, with "appetizers" of carrot, celery and radish and olives, and a high quality beef cut that is done the way you like, served in a place that must have gotten its name before the cigarette ban in restaurants - dark, woody, staff who have been there for years. My mother in law comes back to Madison now and then from the West Coast and says "Smoky's" and we go, happily.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“HUGE Selection of Martinis!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Martini Bob has a collection that is unbeatable! Anything you can imagine for martinis and some you can't!! And don't forget their awesome food! Best steaks in Madison!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank debrabraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love Smokey's. The decor, service, hash browns, steak sizzling when you get it. A great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheesehead571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High quality steaks, "interesting" decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

While visiting friends in Madison I asked for someplace with local color, so they took us to Smoky's. What to say about a place that has a lamp made out of a taxidermied blowfish in the entry? Well, the deep fried cheese curds were great and the steak was a very good piece of beef and cooked to the requested doneness (although it lacked char or any hint of smoke and so presumably isn't cooked over wood or charcoal.)

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajm80031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smoky's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing