We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“HUGE Selection of Martinis!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky's Club

Smoky's Club
Ranked #244 of 938 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“HUGE Selection of Martinis!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Martini Bob has a collection that is unbeatable! Anything you can imagine for martinis and some you can't!! And don't forget their awesome food! Best steaks in Madison!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank debrabraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    22
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love Smokey's. The decor, service, hash browns, steak sizzling when you get it. A great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheesehead571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High quality steaks, "interesting" decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

While visiting friends in Madison I asked for someplace with local color, so they took us to Smoky's. What to say about a place that has a lamp made out of a taxidermied blowfish in the entry? Well, the deep fried cheese curds were great and the steak was a very good piece of beef and cooked to the requested doneness (although it lacked char or any hint of smoke and so presumably isn't cooked over wood or charcoal.)

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajm80031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Where grandma and grandpa used to go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Atmosphere was clean but dated. Menu also dated. Nothing modern. Average old-time Wisconsin supper club. Even salad dressings were limited...French, thousand island. No Windows in dining room. Just old/dull.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrise343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Way Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'd been wanting to go to Smokey's Club in Madison, Wisconsin for quite some time; ever since reading about it from an associate editor of a national publication extolling it's greatness . After his recommendation and purusing Smokey's web site and reading the glowing reveiws from their own site, I decided to take my wife there on our 41st wedding aniversary. We both were looking forward to a fantastic dinner. When they brought the steaks out on those very hot metal plates and the way they sizzle you practically salivate like Pavlov's dog. Well, what a disappointment. My steak, a New York cut and my wife's steak, a rib eye, were both the most tastless steaks we've ever eaten. We were completely flabergasted. I actually checked the web site and address again when I got home thinking I may have gone to the wrong Smokey's. Nope. Then I went back and looked at all the favorable reviews on their web site. Most were written in the 1990's. Apparently the quallity of their steaks has dimisished considerably. It wasn't that they tasted bad, they just had NO taste. All you were eating was bulk. They had the look and texture of steak but both steaks were absolutely tasteless. I salted mine three times and my wife would have loved to smoother hers with ketchup but was too reserved to do so thinking she would be insulting the restaurant. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tbouk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smoky's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing