We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian choices at Monty's”

Monty's Blue Plate Diner
Ranked #15 of 990 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Monty's Blue Plate Diner serves breakfast all day, every day. Our menu features incredible burgers, sandwiches, salads, vegetarian and vegan selections. Our award-winning pies, cakes, cupcakes and cookies are made from scratch daily.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian choices at Monty's”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I ate at Monty's Blue Plate Diner twice while visiting family in Madison. As two of us are vegetarians, we really appreciated the many vegetarian choices on the menu. I especially enjoyed the walnut burger, which I ate minus the bun, and paired with the yummy mashed potatoes and broccoli - excellent! The meat eaters in our group were equally happy - my elderly mother loved her pot roast dinner (just like her mother used to make, she said). The atmosphere is fun, and the wait staff were all super friendly and helpful. I'm looking forward to returning the next time I'm in Madison.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJVegTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    102
    35
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good mix of menu choices - good food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Always a steady eddie....one of the most distinct diner menus you'll find anywhere with a good selection of hearty, traditional to vegetarian and vegan options, features local products. Can get a bit crowded so be ready to wait occasionally, but generally less than 15-20 min waits. Awesome malts and excellent pies and desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nunuthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place was a wonderful discovery--the menu was well-chosen and the entrees were highly seasoned (the rosemary in the chicken in a pie was pronounced) and delicious. Of course, the desserts are the big draw here and it was really tough to make a choice--but the key lime pie was wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MLyndaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Monty'sBlue Plate Diner does everything right. My wife and I ate there earlier this month. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The food was excellent, much of it from their own gardens or locally sourced. I had an artichoke sandwich which was wonderful. I strongly recommend a trip there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBWCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A real diner experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We really like diners. Especially those with Mediterranean plates.The smell of excellent coffee started out the experience right.

The wait was super attentive! Thy blue accoutrements of the blue plate diner made experience complete. They had just enough neon to make me very happy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mageith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing