We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short wait excellent food and service!”

Monty's Blue Plate Diner
Ranked #15 of 997 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Monty's Blue Plate Diner serves breakfast all day, every day. Our menu features incredible burgers, sandwiches, salads, vegetarian and vegan selections. Our award-winning pies, cakes, cupcakes and cookies are made from scratch daily.
M
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short wait excellent food and service!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We have tried Hubbard Diner and this menu is similar just more vegetarian dishes. Malts are amazing. The chicken in a pie was very good. I had the Cristo. Insides were good however too much French toast. Our server was very good. We would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cvanhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    104
    36
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, WI
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Jalapeño Cheddar bread tasted home made and was delicious. The american fried potatoes were ok, but the MONTY’S BREAKFAST SANDWICH was so good! On it is a a fried egg with applewood smoked bacon, spinach, tomato, and herbed goat cheese on grilled jalapeño cheddar bread. ($8.99)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlfromKtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat on the East side”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Always good food, generous portions and fabulous deserts. A wonderful neighborhood meeting place. The eggs benedict and Goddess Meatloaf are favorites.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wishaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Kid and family friendly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Blue Plate Diner (otherwise known as Monty's) has a good variety of casual-style food, great milkshakes, and mouth-watering pies. They are very kid friendly and the staff is great. We are regulars here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viajera725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old School Diner with New School Flare”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have come a few times. I really like this place, it has the fell of an old school diner on the inside, complete with a counter that you can eat at and milkshakes. However, the food that they have is modern, with many options for vegetarians and vegans. It makes you feel at home yet serves you food that has a twist on it different from what your mother would make. It is worth a trip, even if its only for a milkshake! (I would recommend the fat elivs- peanut butter, sliced bananas, chocolate and you can add bacon if that is your thing as well)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing