We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly impressed!”
Review of Capitol Square

Capitol Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Walking Food Tour in Downtown Madison
Ranked #5 of 98 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressed!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter and I came to Madison to tour the college campus. One day we took a stroll down State Street to browse the shops. The best part, besides the food trucks, was beautiful Capitol Square at the end of the street. The Capitol is beautiful and feels so much a part of the community and college campus. I'm not really into State Capitol buildings and history so I was surprised how impressed I was by it. Seeing all the pedestrians hanging out by the Capitol was very inspiring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2trvl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    116
    24
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This summer,the most awesome concerts around the Capitol,as many American cities,bad communicaton.
But fortunately,lots of parkingspace

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonnebjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Farmer's Market - always a treat!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Advice - go early as the sidewalk gets packed full of families, strollers, etc. You can grab breakfast from a vendor. Lots of goodies to try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fortysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
425 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“The most beautiful Capitol Building I've ever seen!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Capitol Building is slightly shorter than the U.S. Capitol and i'm told that the dome is actually bigger. Lit up at nite, it is gorgeous. On Saturday mornings during the summer there is a farmers market on the main drag. It is on a peninsula between Lake Mendota and Monona. Great restaurants all around it, plenty of room just to sit and people watch and watch Madison's famous black coloured squirrels running around. During the summer the Madison Chamber Orchestra plays outside and during Christmas there is music under the dome. Great place to watch college folks, pols and tourists

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great area”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

take a walk around the square; visit the farmer's market on Saturdays; be sure to stop in and visit the capitol also, then take a walk down state st.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Square also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing