We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great capitol with fine tours”

Wisconsin State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 99 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The majestic Roman Renaissance-style State Capitol has the only granite dome in the U.S. and inside has over 40 different types of stone from around the world as well as murals and handmade furniture. The observation deck, open in the summer, offers views of the city and surrounding lakes. Capitol Square plays host to state events throughout the year including Farmers Markets and Folk Festivals.
Dodgeville
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great capitol with fine tours”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wisconsin's capitol, along with the nation's capitol in Washington, and the Texas capitol in Austin, is exceptionally impressive. It is loaded with impressive architectural touches, art, and history. It is very accessible, although the past two years' protests have caused some push back from the governor and his party. The tour is very satisfying. Parking is abundant nearby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    289
    33
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Two Rivers, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth taking the tour”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took the tour, because you can see things you would not be able to see on your own. Plus be able to learn the history of the capital. The only thing was is they were closing by the time we were done with the tour we were on, so we did not get to look around by ourselves, I would have loved to be able to go up in the observatory which was not included with the tour. If we go again I am going to make sure we get there sooner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This old capitol ain't what she used to be”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you go to Madison its hard to miss the capitol building and it is worth stopping for a short walking tour. The building is impressive, both is design and execution. The rotunda and the main hall are impressive, as are the grounds outside. Just go walk around, explore the floors and the views. Lately there have been (nearly) constant political protests going on, you can pretty much expect to see some of their (sometimes) nonsense. Stay clear of them! You could find yourself suddenly under arrest. Groups over twenty need a permit to have a protest these days. If any of the houses are in session you can pretty much count on not getting in to see them. But if your just there to see the architecture, then gaze away. If your shooting with a camera you need a tripod, its not the brightest lit building. And, long exposures will blur people and allow some of the subtle colors to come out. Kind of cool. On weekends you can park on the square, during the summer months there is the farmers market on Sat morning. During week days and Sat morning you will have to park off the square, the are ramps just outside the square, pretty much in every direction. After the protests started the hours have changed, early or late it is best to double check the opening and closing times. Its free, so that is good. There is usually (or at least it used to be) only one set of bathrooms open for the public. When someone "HAS TO GO!", you could be in trouble.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the Best Capitols Around”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everytime I visit the Capitol in Madison, I'm in awe. Simply gorgeous, awe-inspiring and one of the most beautiful state capitols. Take the tour and learn about the interesting history of the WI State Capitol. Make sure to visit the observation deck for a grand view of the Isthmus, Madison lakes & beyond. And wave to Miss Wisconsin as you leave the Capitol grounds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebrahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“A must see for visitors to Madison”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not quite as grandiose as our nation's capitol building but exceeds most other state capitol buildings in beauty and stature. A lot of interesting information about the state and the city of Madison can be learned while visiting. It is a must see for visitors to Madison.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisconsin State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing