We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to walk and visit”

Wisconsin State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 98 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The majestic Roman Renaissance-style State Capitol has the only granite dome in the U.S. and inside has over 40 different types of stone from around the world as well as murals and handmade furniture. The observation deck, open in the summer, offers views of the city and surrounding lakes. Capitol Square plays host to state events throughout the year including Farmers Markets and Folk Festivals.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Easy to walk and visit”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Enjoyed being able to walk into both legislative chambers and take pictures. The Supreme Court was closed though!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rbakken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,070
    287
    33
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This historic building is worth taking the time to see. It is extremely amazing inside! You can walk around up top, so don't miss that!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMS1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You must see this beautiful Capitol building!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were in town for. Conference and stayed an extra day to explore Madison. We heard that there are FREE tours every hour on the hour (on Saturday, at least) so we decided to take a tour after perusing the Madison farmers market that surrounds the Capitol building. I cannot express the amazing beauty all around - with the amount of Italian and other countries arable and other stone, you'll think you're in an old European building! Plus our tour guide did a great job explaining the history as well as the current working within the building. Go see for yourself!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WDWfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so beautiful at night”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The lights at night make for great pictures, theres nothing to not like about the capitol. You can site see (even go inside!) and then walk to a nearby restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank miss a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great capital building”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If I ever find myself in a state capital, i 'll make time for the tour of the building. Here, the tours are free and almost hourly, and meet in the rotunda. The building is modeled on the DC nation's capital building, and you get to go into the house and senate chambers, along with other spaces. An hour packs in a lot. Couples, kids, foreign visitors - everyone on our tour seemed happy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mosthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisconsin State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing