We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!!!”

Wisconsin State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 99 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The majestic Roman Renaissance-style State Capitol has the only granite dome in the U.S. and inside has over 40 different types of stone from around the world as well as murals and handmade furniture. The observation deck, open in the summer, offers views of the city and surrounding lakes. Capitol Square plays host to state events throughout the year including Farmers Markets and Folk Festivals.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We didn't have time to explore the Capitol building but just looking at it from the street was amazing. It is a beautiful place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    289
    33
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Easy access to amazing architecture”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I enjoyed taking photographs of the Wisconsin State Capitol. This is a large and beautiful building. I had no issues bringing a tripod and professional lenses into the building. I was able to take my time capturing pictures both inside and outside. Free tours are also offered to visitors. Well worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solidarity Sing Along!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I work across the street from this, one of the most beautiful state capitols in the U.S. Inside is a large public space under the soaring dome, a favorite of school children and the young at heart gazing up at the architecture and ceramic depictions of Justice, Liberty, Government and the other one (forget right now). Every Monday through Thursday over the noon hour since March 2011, a spirited group of young and old folks gather to sing songs of peace and justice and poke fun at Governor Walker and his merry band of legislative theives. Fridays the singing is outdoors, rain or shine. Come and join the singing, and enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AttyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Handsome symbol of what a society can build”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The architecture is inspiring, a gracious relic of the days when we all took pride in democracy. Take the tour and visit your representatives. Great postcards for sale!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Marbley”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful marble. One of the nicest I've ever seen. Plenty of peeps travel around to see this, and it's worth it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aconman1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisconsin State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing