We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Madison East
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2007

This hotel was really very good. It was VERY clean, which is important to me. The fitness room was open 24 hours, which was very, very convenient for an early morning workout - many hotels I checked on did not open the fitness room until 8:00 a.m. which was too late for me. And, the food in the restaurant was excellent. We liked the hotel so much that we stayed there a 2nd time. I am very picky, so staying there twice is an excellent recommendation.

2  Thank roselleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2007

Before reaching or leaving this hotel do confirm the exact directions. It is near a rather complex and not well signposted interstate intersection, and you have to know when and where to turn. Once you are there, you will find a smart, 3 star property which is fairly new, and good value for money. Check in was business-like, and the rooms are spread along sprawling corridors over several floors. The one we had faced onto the car park, but had a nice little balcony you could walk onto- this was not the case with other rooms we saw- so ask in advance if this is what you want. You will need a car to get around as the hotel is situated a bit away from anything in particular; parking is adequate and free.

The bedroom itself was what you might expect from a mid-market brand, so no wow-factor, but there were the usual facilities, it looked fairly modern, the bed was comfortable and the room was also clean. The lobby had free coffee on tap, a snack bar and a relaxing seating area.

Breakfast was OK-nothing special but also nothing bad either. There is a sort of waitress service which is strange as you end up visiting the (somewhat mediocre) buffet anyway, but the waitress was pleasant so we weren't too bothered.

All in all, a commendable if unadventurous place to stay near Madison.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank City99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

My family spent two nights in this spotlessly clean hotel. We would highly recommend this property to others!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TambiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

My family has stayed in Courtyards all over the country and I have to say that the Madison Courtyard East ranks at the top. We stayed there this past weekend (May 17-20) and absolutely loved it. Kudos to the housekeeping staff for a SPOTLESS room. (and I do mean spotless -- we even looked in the tricky corners of the bathroom -- not a speck to be found). We also saw workers dusting, cleaning, and polishing the public areas of the hotel throughout our stay. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, even going so far as to print our airline boarding passes while we were out for the day. The pool and whirlpool are large and completely clean. The grounds are manicured and spiffy. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked and the servers were very pleasant. Free use of the lobby computer for Internet access -- very nice. Most hotels charge an annoying fee for that.

The hotel sits on a hilltop and is just off the interstate, very easy to get to. There's not much within walking distance of the hotel, though, so be prepared to drive everywhere you want to go. I did see a city bus stop in front of the hotel pretty regularly, so public transit could be an option to get downtown.

Overall, we were VERY impressed with all aspects of our stay at the Courtyard. It exudes cleanliness, efficiency, and attention to detail. WELL DONE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SanFranciscoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

I will keep it brief, but will say that the Courtyard Marriott is in the retail section of Madison (but not downtown and not on the lakes), has superb access to I-39, is perched on a hilltop and is quiet. It is super clean, and the rooms are updated. I found the room here better than the Marriott Sand Key, where I paid three times as much for a resort that sucked like old eggs. This Courtyard is off the Sun Prairie exit (remember that or else you will drive right past it even though you can see the hotel atop the hill) and within one mile are countless chain restaurants and stores. The photos above tell the story of the room: clean and tidy and ample space. The hotel has a rather basic indoor pool, none outdoors, and a small but clean exercise room with Lifecyle, treadmills, etc. It has an on-site food and beverage kiosk, and has a bar that is open with limited hours. Breakfast in the lobby for $9.95 buffet. Parking is ample but can get on the full side if the hotel is full, but we always found a space. I truly enjoy the easy access to the highway, and this hotel is key for the business traveller. If you are wanting to stay on campus, this is a drive (5-7 miles), and you might check closer hosteliers. This hotel is 10 miles from the Alliant Expo Center, and if you want direct access to the expo center for a trade show, consider the Clarion, which is attached to the expo center (but seems not to be as nifty and clean as this Courtyard). A decent hotel at a very nice price in a good location (depending on the reason you're in Madison). If you have come to Madison to shop, then no-brainer, this is the place to stay. Thumbs up to this Courtyard from this Marriott Rewards frequent stay member.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank Smythe77654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

I am writing this from the Courtyard and will check out tomorrow. I am a frequent traveler and am therefore jaded and picky. This is one of the new style Courtyards. The rooms are nicely appointed and the staff has been great. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SRSpearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We only stayed here one night on business, but I was pleasantly surprised. I haven't stayed at a Courtyard in years, but was thrilled when I walked into the room! The beds were very comfortable and had the new mattresses with a soft cover, a down comfortor and lots of soft, comfy pillows. The room was very clean, had a wonderful cooling system that you could actually set the temperature, not just on/off! The bathroom was large and the sink/mirror area were nice and located outside of the shower/toilet. The room was spacious and quiet. There was a gym and pool which I didn't get a chance to use, but both looked nice. Upon arrival, the service was great and fast, the same upon check-out. This is located right next to a bunch of stores and restaurants, but far from downtown. Great for a business person with a car!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
12.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
12.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madison East

Address: 2502 Crossroads Dr, Madison, WI 53718-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#7 Family Hotel in Madison
#11 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Madison East hotel provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work, socialize and entertain. We are located just minutes from East Towne Mall, downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin, Kohl Center, and Alliant Energy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Madison East Hotel Madison
Madison Marriott
Madison Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing