We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Madison East
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Comfy and clean”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Clean newer property on Madison's east side with big rooms and great pillows (5) on each of the two queen beds in our room.

The furnishings are new and stylish and they have a large well appointed lobby where their "cafe" is open in the evenings at 5 so you can buy a drink or get something to eat. They also offer breakfast (not included in the room rate).

We stayed in 415-on the top floor and booked the room the same day (don't try this on football weekends!). I don't think it was a very full house so things were on the quiet side which was nice after a long harrowing day driving in the snow.

Bathroom features a shower tub and stool in a larger space. Sink is located outside bathroom door in the room. Room also featured a small refrigerator and a work desk.

All in all a comfy spot to spend the night.

Room Tip: Its always quietest on the top floor - #4 in this case
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Greetings Jim,

Thank you for your recent stay while visiting Madison; we also appreciate the valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable room.

Please let us know if you have any other comments. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you next time you visit Madison.

Best Regards,
Greg Opgenorth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    74
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
91
59
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After living in Chicago for 5 years, the husband and I finally ventured to Madison for a weekend getaway. We chose the Marriott, as we're reward members, and I have to say that I was very pleased with our stay. It is a beautiful and inexpensive hotel with a great bar (which we took advantage of our second night there). The room itself was very clean, the bed was comfy, and there was a nice swivel flat screen. My only qualm is that it was difficult to get the temperature to a nice, comfy level. When we first walked in the room, it was freezing. We had to turn up the temperature to 88 degrees to get it to warm up quickly. Besides this issue, I still recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Greetings Christi,
Thank you for your recent stay while visiting Madison; we also appreciate the valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable room. We have an energy efficent system to conserve energy while the room is vacant but the room heats up quickly once it is occupied as you experienced.

Please let us know if you have any other comments. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you next time you visit Madison.
Best Regards,
Greg Opgenorth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Booked the Marriott Courtyard East as a home base to meet my sister who was flying into Madison and for me who was driving from Western Wisconsin. We were staying in Madison for a state choir event. My sister was able to take the shuttle to the hotel, check in and enjoy the bistro and conversation with the staff until I was able to arrive. Upon my arrival and after diner, I also was able to enjoy the same friendliness from the staff at the bistro. The following morning, I picked up breakfast for my daughter an I at the restaurant and found it to be good. The room was spacious, clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was so friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Madison.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you Andy for the positive feedback. We take pride at Courtyard Madison East in delivering exceptional service in every department with friendly service. I am glad to hear your party was able to use our complimentary shuttle and our Bistro service.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of additional assistance, now or in the future. I can be reached by phone at 608-661-8100 or by email at gopgenorth@ncghotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

the people at the hotel are so very nice, Kayla, Lisa, Crystal, etc. You are all awesome!

I've stayed at this hotel over the past several months on a weekly basis and every time that I visit the hotel, they know me by name and room preference. My only disappointment is that they stopped serving coffee in the morning a number of months ago. While that's a bummer deal, everything else about the hotel is very nice! There are a number of restaurants that are within walking distance and the hotel people will oftentimes give you coupons to one of the local restaurants. I definitely recommend this hotel to others as you're looking for a place to stay for business or personal!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We take pride at Courtyard Madison East in delivering exceptional service in every department with friendly service. As you have seen over the last several months, we have a great team who take care of our guests. While the Courtyard brand has shifted away from complimentary coffee, I hope you have had the chance to enjoy our on-site Starbucks.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of additional assistance, now or in the future. I can be reached by phone at 608-661-8100 or by email at gopgenorth@ncghotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stopped here after driving 6 hours through rain and snow. It was close to 10:30 at night by the time we arrived. Check in was fast -and the desk clerk was super nice. The room was a spacious corner room. It had great decor and was nice and clean. Even though the hotel is right off the interstate, once I turned the fan on I couldn't hear anything. Left early in the morning so didn't eat anything there but did pick up coffee and it was good. The hotel is right off the interstate, so it is easy to get to. I would stay here again. I used points to pay for the room so I can't comment on the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burkehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We take pride at Courtyard Madison East in delivering exceptional service in every department with friendly service and a clean room. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy Starbucks in our lobby and appreciate the convenient location.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of additional assistance, now or in the future. I can be reached by phone at 608-661-8100 or by email at gopgenorth@ncghotels.com.

Best Regards,
Greg Opgenorth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Marriot Courtyard on Nov 1, 2013. I made my reservation a couple of weeks ahead of time since I was scheduled to have LASIK that day next door at TLC Vision. The hotel is literally next door, so convenient! I did phone beforehand a few times to see if I coudl get any early check in (since I did not know when my surgery was scheduled time-wise until a few days before, and you are instructed to sleep immediately after for 3 to 4 hours). The were very kind and receptive to my situation and told me to call the morning of and they would check for me.

We phoned on the way into Madison and also requested a ground floor room and they provided that along with the early check in. Check in was quick, easy and friendly.

The lobby is stylish and comfortable with a 24 hour snack/beverage center and food. Also, ibuprofen at their little snack shop next to the desk---in case I needed it! That evening we did go down to the bar for a glass of wine, or two (celebrate! I could see!!). the wine was a bit high priced, but not out of line for a hotel IMHO. We chatted with the bartender, she was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the selection of food on the menu but decided to do take out as we were thinking along the asian line. The bartender was able to get us a couple of menus to choose from. We also used the free shuttle to run and get a few things that night and the driver was great!

The room was very clean and comfortable, very spacious and the bed was great.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We take pride at Courtyard Madison East in delivering exceptional service in every department with friendly service, quality Bistro for breakfast and dinner and a clean room. I am happy to hear that we were able to accomodate your requests of early checkin and first floor. These requests are never too much to ask for.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of additional assistance, now or in the future. I can be reached by phone at 608-661-8100 or by email at gopgenorth@ncghotels.com.

Best Regards,
Greg Opgenorth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a long cross country trip we were so relieved to have checked in at such a lovely clean hotel.
The check-in person was very thorough and friendly as well. Our room for three had two queen beds and a balcony-- perfection from cleanliness to comfort. Although no breakfast is included in the room rate, there is an onsite bistro available for food and drinks, as well as a large area of substantial snacks to purchase adjacent to the lobby.

We had one problem--a noise disturbance which kept us awake on and off all night. It was a high-pitched sound that we heard intermittently which seemed to come form the heater. On departing the next day, I reported the issue to the manager To my surprise, she stated that they have a 100% guarantee for room satisfaction and she made a generous adjustment to our room rate. I was very impressed by the gracious attitude of the manager and I would certainly return to this Marriott in the future because of the excellent service of the staff and the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room with a balcony. There is no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Owner at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We take pride at Courtyard Madison East in delivering exceptional service in every department with friendly service, quality breakfast in our Bistro and a clean room. I apologize that you encounted a noise disturbance from other guest but am happy to hear that our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee was used to to make you completely satisfied.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of additional assistance, now or in the future. I can be reached by phone at 608-661-8100 or by email at gopgenorth@ncghotels.com.

Best Regards,
Greg Opgenorth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.4 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madison East

Property: Courtyard Madison East
Address: 2502 Crossroads Dr, Madison, WI 53718-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#7 Family Hotel in Madison
#11 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Madison East hotel provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work, socialize and entertain. We are located just minutes from East Towne Mall, downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin, Kohl Center, and Alliant Energy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Madison East Hotel Madison
Madison Marriott
Madison Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing