We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very accomodating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Madison East
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very accomodating.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had my wedding at lake windsor golf club which is about 15 minutes from this hotel. Although the shuttle option to and from the the hotel there is great, they were less than friendly at the end of the night when the shuttle had to come back later than expected to get everyone home safe. We were assured that it would not be a problem how late the shuttle came but the driver then insisted he was done at midnight. Luckily he did come back for the rest of the guests. We had a block of rooms reserved at this hotel and many guests called and were told that our room block was full, even though it wasn't. When our block was full the staff also assured us that they would direct guests to the Fairfield next door, which they failed to do even after we called twice to remind them and express how unhappy we were that guests were being told our block was full when it wasn't and that when it did fill up they were to be directed next door. When guests did check in we had a couple that had their air conditioner blowing out heat. They proceeded to call the from desk where they told them to "turn on a fan and open a window" and they would TRY and find them another room.

Overall I was very unsatisfied with our experience here. I am a HUGE Marriott fan but this was disappointing. When a party brings in at least 60 hotel rooms you should be more than accommodating to their needs and even after we mentioned how unhappy we were, we were basically just blown off. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopgenorth, Manager at Courtyard Madison East, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at Courtyard Madison East. I truly value your feedback and use it as a tool to bring about necessary improvements at our hotel. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your hotel experience. Courtyard Madison East has a great reputation in Madison and is highly regarded by our guests. I will be sure to forward your feedback on your experience to our management team. It is important to us that we are providing exceptional service to all guests.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel shuttle and apologize; I will with the shuttle team to discuss your comments. We do provide this service to Lake Windsor and drivers know they should be making extra return trips when guests are still at Lake Windsor at the end of the night.

I will also be using your feedback regarding the reservation process for groups and how to address guest concerns regarding equiptment with the front desk team to ensure future guests are provided exceptional service.

If you would, I would love to speak with you personally to gain more detail regarding your comments. Our hotel and team members work hard to exceed our guest’s expectations and I would love to explore your thoughts to understand what we can do in the future. I also encourage you to try us again when you are in Madison so we can prove your experience is not common at Courtyard Madison East. I can be reached at 608-661-8100 or gopgenorth@ncghotels.com

Thank you again for the great feedback.

Best Regards,
Greg Opgenorth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    74
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
91
59
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott over night while on an extended vacation. The hotel was clean and exactly what you expect from a Marriott. There happened to be five weddings going on the evening we checked in, and despite being clearly frazzled by the demands of the various wedding parties, the desk manager was very friendly and accommodating when we checked in. It was pretty noisy in the hotel, but you can't fault the hotel for inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This stay was the second night of a six-week trip from Ohio to the West. The front desk was very accommodating even though they were busy with six wedding parties for the weekend. Our room was very nice and well taken care of. This place caters to the business traveler and is well laid out for them. We chose to eat in downtown Madison instead of al the hotel, but we did have breakfast in the hotel. They have a variety of meals both for dinner and breakfast that can either be eaten there or taken for eating on the run. The staff members in The Bistro were also very pleasant. All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed two recent stays at the Courtyard Madison East. Simply wonderful! Recently renovated rooms, lobby, and other common areas. Very clean. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Felt at home here. Would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family was traveling from northern MN to Virginia and after 12 hours of driving we stopped here for the night. We had a spacious room that was very clean and well appointed. The hotel is in a nice area with plenty of restaurants to choose from if you did not want to eat at the hotel. They had a very nice eating area adjacent to the lobby. They also had a nice outdoor area that had tables and an outdoor fire place you could gather around. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Newer touches of a boutique hotel. Rooms were clean and the workspace great. It is in more of a corporate area with many chain restaurants nearby. The air conditioning is my only complaint. It was really hot this week and my room got very warm in the middle of the night. In small print on the thermostat it states the temperature is controlled by management.
I would stay here again but I actually prefer a location right downtown or in Middleton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grey_Goose_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a newly constructed Courtyard. I like the new design with the open lobby and bistro, very nice outdoor area, larger pool and hot tub. The room was the usual courtyard size but with all new amenities and plentiful electrical outlets. The one thing that sets a Courtyard brand apart negatively is the very loud window unit A/C units and the reason for my average sleep quality rating. This is a great place to stay at this price level. The staff were super friendly and helpful. the bisto even sold local beer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.4 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madison East

Property: Courtyard Madison East
Address: 2502 Crossroads Dr, Madison, WI 53718-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Madison
#7 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#11 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Madison East hotel provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work, socialize and entertain. We are located just minutes from East Towne Mall, downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin, Kohl Center, and Alliant Energy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Madison East Hotel Madison
Madison Marriott
Madison Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing