We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Champions of Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Champions of Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel has the friendliest, most helpful staff I've ever done business with -- regardless of price range. We are repeat customers and we will be staying again.

Just as importantly, this property is an excellent value. Though room rates can obviously vary with demand levels and special events, we've always been satisfied with the deal we've received. In general, you are getting a small suite with a kitchen and separate bedroom, all for the price of a budget motel. Of course you can get more square footage from some competitors, but you'll usually pay a good bit more at check-out for that extra space. For our family of three, the GrandStay Suites are plenty roomy enough. I can understand why a larger family might want more space. But it's not fair to expect to receive that additional space at no charge.

In comparison with other complimentary breakfasts, GrandStay's is very good. And clearly the breakfast food and dining area gets lots of extra TLC from the staff.

Here's to hoping that Amy is still the General Manager. She's an enthusiastic problem solver; GrandStay is obviously lucky to have her energy and leadership. Reservation issues? Call the hotel directly and ask to speak to Amy. You won't be disappointed.

Quick note to the staff, who I know will be reading this: GET A SECOND LUGGAGE CART! You've got a good thing going; don't risk a bad first impression by not having a cart available. For that matter, don't risk a bad last impression either! For an operation of your quality, it's just silly to have only one cart. Because we tend to arrive late, we haven't been personally inconvenienced at check-in. Still, we have had some short delays at check-out for this reason, and are aware of a couple of groups that felt seriously inconvenienced. Losing even one customer over this would be irrational.

Otherwise, my message to the staff is keep up the good work and we'll see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralOhioPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    70
    48
    20
    18
See reviews for
149
46
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dwight, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I made reservations for a two bedroom Suite for a girls weekend. Upon checking in, we found that they had given us a two-bed, one bedroom room. We have a snorer in the group, so we really needed the separation. I went back down to the front desk and Joe searched his room inventory until he came up with an acceptable solution (two one bedroom adjoining rooms) He went above and beyond to make sure we were happy, and we were. The property was very nicely furnished and clean, and everyone was very accommodating! I would definately recommend this as a great place to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasco474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here one night recently. The rooms were nice, clean and roomy. The air conditioner kept the temperature comfortable one a hot summer night.

The main detractors were the beds, which were a bit uncomfortable, and the pool and hot tub were ridiculously small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed one night in a two bedroom suite. The fully stocked kitchen had a full size refrigerator and microwave. Our biggest complaint was that the bathroom really needed to be cleaned. The floor was not mopped, the door was dirty, and there were shaving hairs stuck to the wall above the sink.
The lobby area was nice, although the music was a little loud. The outdoor space had a putting green, basketball hoop, picnic tables and a grassy area for other outdoor games. The breakfast was more than sufficient to get us started on the day. The breakfast staff were friendly and efficient.
The pool area is really, really small, there were only six chairs available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMex828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Definitely a great value! Our family of four is travelling across country and have stayed in a VARIETY of suites along the way! The GrandStay Suites surprised us with the incredible rate and same level of amenities, as other national chains.

When we checked in, Tana was juggling several tasks at once, but was courteous and efficient. On check out, Janet helped us immensely by straightening out a billing situation, which was confused by our adding a second night directly through the hotel.

Thanks for a wonderful stay in Madison!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTPDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

For the price you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. For less than the price of a typical hotel room you can get a two queen suite with a complete kitchenette. The kitchenette is stocked with dishes, and cooking utensils. The fridge is full sized. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The TV is outdated and oddly located such that it cannot be directly viewed from the beds, sofa or kitchen without turning 90 degrees on the cabinet on which it is located. The Friday breakfast staff couldn't keep up with the demand but the Saturday staff did a great. The breakfast woman on Saturday, Janet was fabulous and very accommodating. All in all a very nice stay while we toured UW-Madison with our son.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeser0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

For the price you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. For less than the price of a typical hotel room you can get a two queen suite with a complete kitchenette. The kitchenette is stocked with dishes, and cooking utensils. The fridge is full sized. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The TV is outdated and oddly located such that it cannot be directly viewed from the beds, sofa or kitchen without turning 90 degrees on the cabinet on which it is located. The Friday breakfast staff couldn't keep up with the demand but the Saturday staff did a great. All in all a very nice stay while we toured UW-Madison with our son.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeser0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Address: 5317 High Crossing Blvd, Madison, WI 53718-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madison
#6 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing