We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“All friendly place”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Everyone I met was friendly and helpful. We stayed a week and I loved the large breakfast assortment we had to choose from. The suites were large and comfortable.The only thing I did not like was the cleaning people came anywhere between 9-3 and someone had to be there to attend our dog when the cleaning person was in the room. They could never tell me when they would be there so we could leave the dog alone and I did not like sitting around waiting for them to come to clean. I had even asked if I could have them come in the mornings but they said some girls start with the top floor and others start with the bottom floor so they cannot tell when they will be there. Most of our stay we had to take the dog with us when we left. All else was very good and I would stay again but without my dog.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, choose a first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reikigirl841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyEinhaus, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We will look into a more convenient way to accommodate guests with animals such as yourself. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    70
    49
    20
    18
See reviews for
151
46
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We frequently travel to visit family in Madison & toured this property last winter thinking we would use it for room to stretch out while helping care for a grandchild there. That did not pan out and since we are "platinum" class members in another hotel chain we never made it back until now, when we have a need in August to rent a 2 BR suite for an event with other family members in town. We have stayed for many weeks in the Candlewood Suites (Holiday Inn family) hotels and compare a lot of features that Grandstay has to Candlewood: separate 1 BR with a full kitchen for light cooking (ie, dishwasher, hot plate but no oven, settings for 4, microwave and full size fridge). The room was clean but the walls are not very well insulated with lots of plumbing and TV noise coming through. The room is slightly smaller than the Candlewoods we have stayed at: missing are closet(s) with a wardrobe in the BR but no hall closet, no pantry in the kitchen, no coffee table (no big deal), and TVs are the older design but many channels & HBO are available.

This Grandstay offers a very nice free breakfast that Candlewoods do not offer. It has a small warm indoor pool great for kids and a semi functional (not very bubbly) whirlpool plus an outdoor playground and an exercise room. We did not check out laundry facilities and parking seemed a bit tight with only a few open spaces when we checked in at 9pm. This property may be a bit hard to find from town but is right off the interstate, easy with a GPS or Google maps, next to the Toyota dealer. There is a Pizza Uno 2 blocks away and a large movie complex along with the large EastTowne mall a short drive, but it's not the best area for side walk trips.

We will plan on future stays but noticed the Mon-Thur rates are much higher than weekend rates as many hotels play games with business vs family/event travelers. Our only criticism is sleep quality: the beds were fine but my wife is a light sleeper and woke up at 4am with a loud TV blaring through the wall, so be selective if you can to stay away from the noise (eg, another recent stay at a high end hotel we had the "party boys" next to us already at 9pm so we asked to get moved and got away from the racket ... not at option at 4am when you can't tell where the noise is coming from).

Room Tip: Some rooms face the playground but ask for a quiet end room to minimize night time noise sources lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyEinhaus, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank You very much for your valuable feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent almost a week at the GrandStay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the staff members were helpful and nice. Tonia made us feel at home. Thanks, GrandStay!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the top of the stairs. Very convenient, and they have a door between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TumbleMomGymEtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Its guests like you that make our job great! Our entire staff sincerely enjoyed having your group in house. Thank You very much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Madison to celebrate our grand daughter's graduation from High School. We were welcomed with open arms at the Grand Stay Residential Suites. Everyone was very friendly, our room was clean and spacious and felt just like home. I would not hesitate recommending this suite residence to anyone traveling to Madison. it was sweet indeed!

Donna Holden-Hemenway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our guest; we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My mom and I recently stayed at the GrandStay in Madison, and it was more than wonderful. It was a short stay but, nonetheless, perfect. The one bedroom suite was a great size to share allowing us to have our own bed and television at a reasonable price, not to mention the kitchenette and spacious bathroom. The service that is provided 24/7 is phenomenal as well. We found ourselves arriving to the hotel past midnight and the front desk staff was willing to help us with extra items for the pull out couch. I recently relocated to the Minneapolis area from Madison, and as we were leaving my mom stated how it was nice to have a place like the GrandStay to "call home" when visiting family and friends, and I couldn't agree more!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyEinhaus, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Kayla-
I am thrilled to hear about your great experience. Wonderful guests like you help us enjoy our jobs more. Please let us know if we can help you with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and I, our daughter and her three children stayed in the Madison Grandstay while visiting other family members. The suite has only one bathroom and the toilet paper holder (located in front of the sink) is about 3 feet away from the toilet. Very inconvenient for small children and even adults. There is only one closet located in one of the SMALL bedrooms. Seating capacity is limited to only four ( two in the kitchen and two in the living room). The developer of these hotels must think that we are all small people! In the past we have stayed in other residential type suited that provide ample space ( 2 bathrooms and storage space) for up to six people. The pool is also quite small what with the amount of families that stay there at one time. The upside was the breakfast and patio area. However I will never stay at a Grandstay Hotel again.

Room Tip: ask to see your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyEinhaus, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
We accommodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, MN
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our $76 rate was an excellent deal for a one bedroom suite. Room clean and attractive. A/C was unit in closet that maintained the temp very well and fan could be kept on in between cooling cycles. Kitchenette was handy for bringing in a pizza from Pizzeria Uno. There was a mall and restaurants close by, but none within walking distance. Finding hotel can be a little tricky, but not a serious problem. Staff was very attentive, also an ice machine on first floor even though frig had an ice maker.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coon_Rapids_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyEinhaus, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review about our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#19 of 63 in Madison
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Address: 5317 High Crossing Blvd, Madison, WI 53718-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madison
#6 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing