We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans takeout is always a great choice!”

New Orleans Take Out
Ranked #153 of 990 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Orleans takeout is always a great choice!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Been here a handful of times over the past few years and each time I have thoroughly enjoyed eating eating here. I recommend the red beans and rice with french bread with pralines it will fill you up though almost anything here will. It's a very casual atmosphere and quite cool to see all the music legends and who have passed through and had a nice meal of New Orleans cooking. This place is easily one of my top restaurants in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“New favorite restaurant in Madison!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I were getting tired of eating on State Street so we decided to look up restaurants and found New Orleans Take Out. I had my first Po' boy sandwich (with fried oysters) which was amazing! The bread is so good and the crust on the oyster was perfect. My boyfriend had the BBQ Po' boy and he loved it. We have come back several times since and we're sure to visit again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letrips66
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't let the look of the place fool you...”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We love spicy cajun and have always meant to try this place in our hometown. We decided to try the fried catfish and shrimp creole. The catfish batter was not too heavy and had good flavor and wasn't dry. The dirty rice accompanying it was flavorful. The shrimp creole was advertised as "very, very hot" and that just seemed like a challenge. And boy was it good... and pretty hot. The cornbread was a generous portion and very tasty. Our entrees were about $6 each for the "small" portion -- perfect for lunch. The only thing missing was fried okra. We'll be back to try all the other entrees!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cajun Cream? What a dream!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Authentic Cajun fare available locally. Excellent stuff all over the menu - I love the various Po Boy sandwiches and Thursday's special, "cajun cream." Folks who like the spicy will love the jambalaya. Creole for real. Cornbread. Real deal stuff.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great little hole-in-the-wall!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at a nearby hotel and went walking looking for take-out dinner options. There's a few chain, fast-food type places nearby, and then I passed this unassuming looking place. What a find!

The portions are good, the prices are very reasonable, and the food is fantastic! I hope I'm in town soon so I can go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Take Out also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing