We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biscuits and Gravy!”
Review of Madison Sourdough

Madison Sourdough
Ranked #2 of 19 Bakeries in Madison
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Production bakery and cafe with seating inside for 48 and outdoor patio with 42 seats.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Biscuits and Gravy!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Be sure to order the biscuits and gravy! Seriously some of the best I've ever tasted. Or the Diabalo, that was delicious too. Egg sammie was okay, but compared to the others I would not order. And don't walk away without some french bread: chewy on the outside, soft on the inside!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
“Good bread, more meat needed”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled in for lunch on busy Saturday off the bike path. It took over 20 minutes to get food after ordering at the counter. The Cubano was tasty but could have used more meat considering it was ten bucks. Chicken breast sandwich also had more bread than meat. My son devoured the grilled cheese, and the cookies were very good. The lady next to me had a huge omelet which looked great. Might try breakfast next time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChewsyMomMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't miss this booth at Farmer's Market!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

So I was excited on my second visit to the Madison Farmers market to find this place ACROSS THE STREET, from the actual market. I missed it last time and was sad. So if you are new and visit the market pay attention to the businesses set up across the street or you may miss something! I knew their sourdough was awesome thanks to Cooper's Tavern where I had a piece with my breakfast last visit. So I bought a whole loaf. Soooo good. I sliced it up, toasted it and had it with soup. But what really surprised me was how great the croissant I had was. Right there at 6:45am I ate it while walking the market. It didn't need butter, it didn't need jam. Just perfect on its own. Cant wait to go back to Madison and check out their actual store next time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I had a hard time deciding what to get because everything sounded and looked so good to me! I ended up ordering the huevos rancheros with a chocolate croissant and an iced coffee. YUM! Everything was delicious. Everything my friends had was delicious too. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laysadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went for brunch. Ordered the smoked salmon eggs benedict. The first few bites I thought I had hit the jackpot but after that found the dish way too saucy. While the flavor was very good, it was overpowering and a little gross. There was SOOO much sauce but not not enough actual bread so I wasn't really full when I was finished. Maybe that's their secret because I ended up ordering a croissant when I was done! Croissant was really good but when is a croissant not really good.

Would consider going back and ordering a sandwich but their menu items are overpriced for Madison so maybe not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Sourdough also viewed

 

Been to Madison Sourdough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing