We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat les frites!”

Jacs Dining and Taphouse
Ranked #45 of 981 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can't beat les frites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Jacs has become a staple. They have one of the best tap selections in town...especially Belgian brews. The burgers are good, especially Tuesday night's BOGO. Best of all are the moulets et frites (mussels & fries). It's a small place, so it fills up fast, but we're a young family, so we hit the restaurant early before the crowds hit. They do take reservations.

Helpful?
Thank wicomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mussels, mussels, and more mussels! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

It was delicious! My husband and I shared an order of mussels and a flatbread. It was all amazing. Other people in our group had pastas and steak that all looked and smelled so good. We did a few of the specialty old fashioned that were also really good and strong! Definitely going back!

Helpful?
Thank Cbiggs5302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is always packed. And it is a rather small place so it feels packed...but in a good way. However, it is worth it for the food. Our order was actually messed up one time and they gave us a free appetizer while we waited for them to re-do it. Overall, good food, cozy atmosphere, great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Personal_Legend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great All Around Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

First Impressions:
We had to find street parking (not even sure if they have a lot). The place was cozy, warm and inviting. Since we had a reservation we were given the window spot. Ultimately the tables appeared to be pretty close together, but as mentioned below, it worked out. We were seated immediately and we were on our way.

Atmosphere:
The building was an older building with certainly a lot of character. The place was well lit with nice soft lights, so you don't feel like you're under a spotlight. The tables and chairs were nothing special, but were comfortable and clean. The tables were close to each other that sitting down (or getting up if you had to) was definitely an uncomfortable squeeze. The trade off was that although the tables were close together, you didn't feel on top of anyone, and you could carry on a conversation with your table without being drowned out by the other diners. They had a huge bar with plenty of seating for a location that was overall not very large.

Service:
We were promptly greeted upon arrival and were seated immediately. The waitress we had was very friendly and informative and helped us with questions regarding the menu. They were very attentive throughout the meal and ensured the water glass was always full. They brought out the food with an appropriate pacing, and checked in regularly while not being distracting (for example, she didn't stop by to ask how the food was right after we took a bite). We were more than happy with our waitress.

Food:
We had the Peach & Prosciutto Flatbread and the Turkey sandwich with the house frites. The flatbread, cooked perfectly was a nice balance of sweet and salty. It was light, but filling, and brought a unique flavor profile to the table. The combination of ingredients was out of the box but well done and each ingredient tasted fresh. The serving size was perfect for dinner. Definitely a 5/5. The turkey sandwich was basically the ultimate thanksgiving leftovers sandwich. The turkey was loaded with flavor and the toppings were a great balance of flavors that you find with your holiday meal. The cranberry mayo was a nice balance of sweet and tart. Definitely a 5/5. The frites were highly touted on the reviews coming in, and although the fries were a great homemade fry, the aioli provided was a little on the bland side. In their defense, we've never been fans of the mayo/fry craze, but we were willing to try. We'd give them a 3/5. After dinner we decided to try one of the amazing looking desserts because we saw the table by us order a pair. We decided on the lavender crème brulee. This was definitely one of the best brulees that we've ever had. The custard, although a little thicker, had a great depth of flavor that paired well with the crispy brulee on top. This was smothered in a whip cream topping and a fresh & flavor packed strawberry garnish. Overall an incredible finish to an fantastic dinner (5/5).

Drinks:
We ordered the house cocktail (Aviation) and one of the tap beers. The house cocktail was quirky but came through with a delectable flavor that can't be properly described. The beer was served in a standard pint glass. The number of options was more than enough as there was about a dozen different specialty cocktails and a dozen different tap beers (both international and local, none being your common awful domestics). We both came away extremely pleased with our drinks.

Value:
The quality of the food and drinks were great. The service and atmosphere was also nice. The sandwich options were reasonably priced (~10-11) and the flatbread was worth the ~15-18 paid for it. Some of the entrées escalated quickly in price, but overall the main options seemed reasonable for the quantity and quality of the product delivered. The drinks were less desirable as the cocktails were 8-12 dollars and the beers were 6-10 dollars for draft. Although this was a little on the high side, it didn't take away from the experience. The dessert was the most disappointing from a value perspective as the 7 dollar cost was arguably too high for the small portion size (though the flavor was so good that it could probably be justified). Overall we'd definitely go back again, as the experience was great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank callistobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friday night fish was great!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Not a large place and they do not take reservations on Friday nights (but they do other nights) so we decided we would get there early. They begin serving at 4:00 so we arrived at 4:30. Good idea! Within about an hour, the place was pretty packed. The tables were full and people were waiting in the bar area. Their Friday fish special was excellent! In our group of 4, 3 had beer battered and 1 had broiled....all of us agreed it was great! One had the potato pancakes which were quite good. The other 3 had the frites served with aioli dipping sauce and the 4th person tried some....all 4 agreed FANTASTIC! Fish special was reasonably priced. I will definitely plan to go there again and soon, I hope.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKW0056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacs Dining and Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Jacs Dining and Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing