We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, Generic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visited Monona, which is what this hotel is closer to than Madison by far, for a funeral and stayed for one night. Let me preface by saying that I have had family in this area for many years but never stayed at this property because it was priced so much higher than everything else close by so had high expectations. Got a deal this time and so we tried it.

Check-in was easy and quick. Front desk service was always professional and friendly.

The room was adequate. I had expected maybe bigger, or higher quality because of the price thing but it looked like just about every other moderate hotel room I have ever been in. Decent amenities - fridge, microwave, larger flat screen TV. Air controller worked fine. Towels were okay but not great.

I thought the bed was a little squishy, and I did have a sore back when I woke up. Also, it would have been nice to have a lamp on each side of the bed. Others in my group thought the bed was okay.

Used the spa and pool for a little bit, spa was not super hot but had great jet pressure. Pool was okay. Chemical use was not over the top.

We did not eat breakfast as we had a family meal elsewhere, but there seemed to be plenty of good choices for food.

Check out was also easy, although housekeeping was knocking on the door at 8:55am.

Overall a nice, clean property - I just think it is normally over-priced compared to similar properties.

Dave

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Hi Dave -
First of all, thank you for finally giving our hotel a try! We are always happy to have new guests with fresh perspectives. I welcome any and all comments from guests, so thank you for your honest review.
I noticed your comments regarding the towels being OK and the bed being squishy. I will work with the owners to improve these areas, so that next time we get 5 stars from you! I know the housekeeping team is antsy to get the rooms turned over for the next guest, but that is no excuse for giving people an early morning wake up call! I will work with the team to resolve this issue.
Overall, I'm glad to see you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 313 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I made several phone calls to this hotel while planning my sister's bachelorette party. The staff members were pleasant, helpful and easy to work with. The renovated building was very nice. We were pleased with the pool and hot tub as well as the breakfast offerings. Coffee and fruit and cookies offered all day was wonderful as we headed out for activities. Rooms were clean and comfortable. It wasn't as close to downtown but for the very fair price we paid and the amenities we were very happy. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Emily -
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I'm thrilled to see you enjoyed the renovated rooms, breakfast, and 24hr cookies and fruit. I'm also glad to hear your interactions with the staff were always pleasant. I will be sure to share your comments with everyone!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the bachelorette party weekend and hope you visit us on your next stay in Madison.

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stay here every year when we are in Madison for the Midwest horse fair. Our rooms have always been very comfortable and clean. The lady who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. Great location with good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and the wonderful comments. We are pleased to see you have been loyal to us throughout your years of attending the Midwest Horse Fair. We're also glad to hear you enjoy the comfortable rooms, friendly staff members, and the convenient location to restaurants and the Alliant Energy Center.

Looking forward to accommodating you for the 2015 Midwest Horse Fair!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stopped in Madison on a Christmas trip around Wisconsin. We had only planned on a one night stay but with 8" of snow overnight we decided not to travel the next day. The staff was very accomodating and made sure we had a room to stay in. The rooms are very nice (executive king suite) and reasonably priced. The only complaint that we had was that the plumbing in the bathroom made a very loud rattling noise if someone upstairs was taking a shower. It only lasted 10-15 minutes but was kind of unnerving. We let the front desk know and I'm sure that maintenance has checked it out. Still our favorite place to stay in Madison.
Having a suite was nice to bring our friends back for gift exchange and to look at our Ireland pics.

Room Tip: The suites are reasonably priced and well worth the extra cost. Very comfortable and feels like home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Dennis,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you were snowed in, but glad we had comfortable accommodations for you. My maintenance team did address the rattling pipes in the room above. I hope this didn't cause too much of a distrubance for you.

I'm happy that we are your favorite hotel in Madison - we hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Just staying overnight in Madison. Got a good deal on priceline. Room was clean, large, and quiet. Staff was nice, breakfast was decent but not that great. Seemed close to lots of restaurants. Easy on and off highway.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canucknuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to see you enjoyed the convenient location and our clean, quiet rooms. I appreciate you recognizing the nice staff members. I will share your comments with the team. We hope to see you on your next trip to Madison!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stay at the Country Inn every tim we go to Madison to see friends, attend the farmers market, see a play, or just enjoy partying on State St. It is in a nice location next to the beltway on the south side of Madison. Even with the traffic, the rooms are nice and quiet and comfortable. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is better than most of the big name hotels that charge for breakfast. We are going to stay there for Christmas and have our friends up to our suite for our celebration. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: The suites are just a little more than the standard rooms. If you are staying for more than one nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi Dennis - We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very glad to see you enjoyed the convenient location and our quiet, comfortable rooms. Thank you for the kind remarks about our breakfast. I'm happy you enjoyed it! I also noticed your comments about the friendly and helpful staff members - I will be sure to share this with them.

We look forward to your upcoming Christmas visit. See you then!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Could not ask for a better more friendly staff at an excellent location in the Madison Wi area. It seems they thought of everything to make for a really nice stay. Quick check-in, nice room and then off to enjoy a concert at the Magestic Theatre. Returning at 01:00am and finding cookies and hot beverages available was a nice surprise! Great breakfast in the morning. Group of college track athletes were there and even though it was officially time for the breakfast to end , it was kept open to take good care of this group and even had breakfast bags to go. Quality customer service at its best. Will stay here whenever we can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to see you enjoyed the room and the late night cookies and beverages. Glad you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast and took notice of the to-go bags!
We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Madison.

Sincerely,
Erica Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
8.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#27 of 63 in Madison
545 reviews
7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#16 of 63 in Madison
437 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Address: 400 River Pl, Madison, WI 53716-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $80 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home when you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in Madison, WI. Each room features a king or two queen size beds with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The Free High Speed Internet Access will keep you in touch with work or family. The great central location is just minutes from Downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin and the State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Madison
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Hotel Madison
Country Inn Monona
Monona Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing